We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Nearby Hotels
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites(Durango)(Great Value!)
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
$153
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$215
$199
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$248
$230
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strater Hotel(Durango)
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Mountain Shadows(Durango)(Great Value!)
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (950)
Filter reviews
950 results
Traveler rating
466
280
129
53
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
280
129
53
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree drinksindoor poolgreat locationper adultcocktail hourhappy hourtrain stationwithin walking distancejacuzzi tubgreat place to staybest westernsmain streetshort walkeach eveningbiscuits and gravythe durango silverton railroadtwo blocks
Filter
Updating list...
784 - 789 of 950 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel's customer service was awesome. I needed a hotel for my daughter for one night as the college was closed for the holiday. I found this website and called to ask questions about shuttle service from airport, eating establishments and late checkout as college wouldn't let kids back in until after 1pm. They exceeded all expectations by being at airport when daughter arrived, stopped on way to hotel at store for drinks and snacks, accommodated late check out and even drove my daughter to college when they opened! Thank you so much for taking good care of your customer's! We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stanleyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you so much for the great review. We were happy to accommodate your daughter until she could get back into the dorm. My staff are outstanding with their customer service, I am truly blessed. I hope she enjoyed her stay and that she does well in school! We love FLC parents and students!

Thanks again, we really appreciate your kindness.

Mary Kay Dobson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Sadly, our room wasn't that wonderful..we asked for and were assigned two ground floor rooms with parking outside the door (critical when you are on a road trip with folks like us who bring everything we own everywhere we go, or so it seems!) with two queen beds. The rooms were very small and the baths were as well. Understand updating is ongoing and someday soon expect this property will have new carpets as well as furniture and fittings which aren't dinged.
The location is great for exploring downtown Durango. Breakfast was motel acceptable. We usually travel with our dogs and next trip to Durango (we live just a few hours away in NM) will find us elsewhere. If you have never visited Durango, please do so and do yourself a favor and stay at this hotel or one of the in-town properties - parking is a huge hassle and endless quarters are required for the meters.
On a previous trip we stayed at the Doubletree down by the river--it is very nice but it is noisy from street traffic (tho' Best Western guests can hear train whistles perhaps more than they want to!). Still think Best Western has rest beat hands down for location.

Room Tip: Interior rooms face an enclosed atrium and many of exterior rooms are far from parking. Choose according to your needs and these nice folks will help.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khkhnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you again for your input. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your accomodations. The furniture in the rooms was replaced in 2011. We have added new 42" flat screen tv's' and updated the bedding in all the rooms. We are slated to replace the carpet in the very near future and will be replacing all the tub surrounds over the next year. Our breakfast offerings do include scrambled eggs, sausage patties, biscuits & gravy, waffles, yogurt, fruit, fresh donuts, blueberry muffins, bagels, english muffins, bread, cereal, hot oatmeal coffee, tea and juice. Hopefully you were able to find something to your liking with our offerings. We do not allow pets, sorry but we do offer a great location. Most of our parking is located in close proximity to the rooms so I do apologize if you had some problems in that area.
We appreciate your business and hope that you had a great time in Durango.

Mary Kay Dobson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Not so great. Not horrible, but this is a last resort. Hotel old and run down, rooms the same. WiFi SLOW---obviously too many people online at the same time. Room was rough around the edges. Bathroom kind of disgusting. Window didn't lock. Only redeeming attribute: Two free drinks a night in lounge and super friendly servers. Won't make this mistake again. Stay at a Hilton in town.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

I am so sorry that you were disappointed with the hotel. We have recently upgrade all of our rooms with new case goods and new linen. We will be replacing all the bath tile in our standard rooms throughout the upcoming months. New carpet is scheduled as well. We are an older hotel and we are constantly working on improving the property. We did have a bandwith issue with our wi-fi and we believe that we have the issue resolved. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the complimentary cocktails and hopefully the breakfast.

Again, I do apologize and hope that you had a good time in Durango.

Mary Kay Dobson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I switched over to this hotel from the Hampton and wished I'd just stayed here the whole time. The outside is very pretty. The inside looks like an older property but rooms are clean and well kept. The room I had was very large with a jaccuzi tub and huge tv. Much bigger room, tv and bathroom than Hampton. And the rate was almost $10 a night cheaper. Free alcoholic drinks (2) each night plus they will give you a card for a free margaita at Gapazos ? restaurant 1/2 block away. Close to downtown but so quiet. Great breakfast as well.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitewolf678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you so much for the great review. We do feel that we have a great property and do our best to take care of it and our wonderful guests. Please come and stay with us again in your future travels to the Durango area. We greatly appreciate your business.

Mary Kay Dobson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I gound the hotel clean and well appointed. The free breakfast has everything you need but if you want to dine in you are only a block from a good variety of eating options. The hotel has free wifi and so does half the town if you check. You are a short walk to the Durango Silverton Railroad which offers a scenic train trip through the mountains to Silverton. The hotel has an internal pool which can be a little noisy when people get a little loud but this is not a problem as the pool closes early. There us a free guest laundry near the Kitchen and you can buy small packets of powder at the desk. Overall I found this a good stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Staytruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It really helps a great deal to get feedback from our guests.
We are glad that you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel and all the amenities that it has to offer. The location, breakfast, laundry facility, complimentary wi-fi and evening cocktails are key to ensuring that guests have all that they may need at no additional costs to them. We also offer a complimentary airport shuttle for those guests that would rather fly than drive.
Please come and stay with us again if you are traveling through this area. We appreciate your input and your business.

Mary Kay Dobson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews