We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location-Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Boalsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location-Very Nice”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Perfect for our family-clean, comfortable room, pool, two free drinks, breakfast, and an easy walk to the train station, downtown stores, and restaurants. The price was reasonable and in-line with other hotels. Glad that we stayed here instead of paying a similar price and being on the north end of town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you so much for the nice review. We do have a very convenient location to all that Durango has to offer. You can park your car and walk everywhere! It is a big plus with the limited downtown parking that is available. We do pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms and the friendliness of the staff. We appreciate your taking the time to review us and hope that you will be back again soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
General Manager
Best Western Rio Grande
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    251
    110
    48
    23
See reviews for
292
304
29
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

After reading a few reviews of this hotel we still thought to give it a try. Boy are we glad we did. It's Close to all local amenities, the Breakfasts are great, self help but comprehensive , you can even make your own waffles. So what some of the reviewers were righting about it ignore and get yourself here if you are in this neck of the woods.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Squidgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
What a great review!! Thanks so much. We do really try hard to offer a great product to our guests. Thanks for taking the time to acknowledge our efforts. We offer an extensive continental breakfast and 2 complimentary cocktails for each adult for every night of their stay. We have a great location and a great staff. Thanks again!

Mary Kay Dobson
General Manager
Best Western Rio Grande
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Perfect motel for a short stay in Durango. Close to historic Main Street and train station, very friendly staff, clean comfy room, two free cocktails and a free breakfast, plus nice indoor pool and hot tub. What more could you ask for! I'm fussy about where I sleep and I liked this place! Reseaonably priced too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terricat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for the nice review. We are very happy that you enjoyed all the hotel has to offer. We are within walking distance to all the downtown shops, restaurants, bars and of course, the Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad! We were pleased that you were able to enjoy the breakfast and the indoor pool and hot tub. Please come and see us again soon!

Mary Kay Dobson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were a little wary of staying in a Best Western on our vacation. But after a vote of confidence on the Best Western PLUS from someone who's worked in travel for 45 years, we decided to give it try, and we were not disappointed. For our recent Colorado road trip, we were shocked at the high prices of hotels in Durango. But the Best Western Plus Rio Grande was very sufficient for us. We had a four month old with us, and I was very thankful for the cleanliness and convenience of the hotel. I had no problem bathing her in the bathtub, as it was very clean. Additionally, the free breakfast was fairly good - it's on the nicer end of what you would expect for a free breakfast. The staff was very accommodating and quick to grant any requests we had.
We also took the Durango-Silverton train one day while we were there, and the train was literally a short 4-5 minute walk from the hotel. We were able to park our car for three days and walk everywhere. Location makes the price worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captaup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We do have a great location, close to town and the train yet away from all the noise on Main avenue. We just made changes to our breakfast and I am very glad that you enjoyed it. The indoor pool and hot tub is great for kids and adults alike. I have a great staff that go above and beyond to ensure that the guests needs are met. I am very happy they were helpful to you and your family. We hope that you had a great time in Durango and had an even better vacation.

Mary Kay Dobson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel is located directly next to the historic Main Street district. It offers all services you need as a private traveller in this hotel category, such as a refrigerator in the room, free WiFi or washing machine facilities. Breakfast is included and a good selection is offered. We had a two-queen-bed bedroom. The room was small and dark. The bathroom was functionable but has seen better days and is partly integrated in the main room. We consider the quality as average given the price we paid.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I hope that you were able to enjoy the breakfast and the complimentary cocktails as well as the free parking. We are located downtown, withing walking distance to shops, restaurants, and, of course, the Durango and Silverton Narrow Gauge railroad. Our rates are at their highest point of the year during the summer months. Between October and May the rates drop to about 1/2 of what you probably paid for your stay. Please come and stay with us again . We will be redoing our bathrooms as well during the off season. There isn't much we can do about the size but the new tile will be a big improvement.

Again, thanks for the review.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

the location is fantastic, quiet but close to the downtown area and the train. rooms are a bit dark, but otherwise very comfortable. staff was great as always, willing to help and point folk in the right direction

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Signet01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thanks for the great review. We do have some brighter rooms that face outside. Our indoor rooms in the atrium are not as bright. We are close to downtown and the train. Just park your car and walk. I am very glad that my staff was helpful. They are great!! Please come and see us again!

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

First off, you're paying for the location. From the hotel you can walk the entire downtown of Durango, which is a really fun town. You're also right next to the train depot, which is a major draw for many travelers. The slight downside to this is you'll smell the smoke form the engines during the day. The hotel itself I found to be pretty average. They have updated the interior of the rooms, which was nice, but they were on the small side, and still felt a little average even with the updates. Ultimately, i think my issue was the size of the room. The pool area is in inside, and in the middle of the hotel. Again, for kids it's nice, but judging my 5 year olds reaction to the pool, it wasn't her favorite. There was more 21-40 years old drinking in the hot tub than families enjoying the pool. They had an excellent breakfast room, with a nice selection of food in the morning. They even offer you complimentary cocktails at happy hour, which I was unable to take advantage of, but it was a nice touch. Overall, it's a good place for families if you want to walk downtown Durango and try restaurants, drink some beers, ride some trains, etc. A little pricey for the rooms, but again, I think you're paying for location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theinsurancetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are an older hotel and the rooms do seem a bit small because we replaced all the double beds with the larger queen beds. We do have a great location for couples and families alike. You can walk everywhere and not have to worry about finding a place to park. I am sorry that your 5 year old didn't enjoy the pool. There generally are a lot of families in the pool. Especially in the summer months.

Again, thanks for the review. I sounds like you had a great time in Durango! Come back and see us again soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#6 of 33 in Durango
461 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.3 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Address: 400 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn! Located only 1.5 blocks from the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. BEST WESTERN Rio Grande Inn is perfect for the train enthusiasts of all ages. You can leave your vehicle in our parking lot and take a short to the train depot. Free HAPPY HOUR every evening from 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM. Includes(2) complimentary drinks per guest. Free HOT BREAKFAST every morning. Get your day stared right with our extended breakfast: Hot sausage, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy, biscuits, fresh fruit, yogurt, OJ and coffee. Walking distance to world class dining, galleries and amazing shopping. Some guests come for our top notch skiing. Take advantage of our GREAT location and rates when in town for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing