We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GET A $50 GIFT CARD
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We loved it here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The room was VERY nice and it on a quiet, shady dead-end street. It was walking distance to everywhere in historic Durango. We were there two days and never moved the car. It is a great town!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sungal19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you so much for the review. We do have a great location, close to the train and downtown Durango yet far enough away from all the noise on Main Avenue. You can park your car, ride the train, shop and dine and just enjoy the beautiful outdoors! We are so happy that you chose to stay with us!! Come back and see us again soon!

Mary Kay Dobson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    213
    92
    37
    20
See reviews for
237
255
27
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morro Bay, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We went back to Durango to ride the DSNGRR train and to see this cute little town. The BW hotel was perfect for our trip, centrally located, clean and the price was well worth the cost. The staff was extremely helpful and knowledgable and made us feel just like at home. Our family will be back and will choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We do have a great, quiet location that is so close to everything that you can just park your car and not get back in it until you checkout. I hope that you were able to enjoy the pool, free cocktails, and our complimentary breakfast. If you decide to fly into Durango we do offer a complimentary airport shuttle. Just let us know and we will be happy to pick you up. We do appreciate your business and your input.

Mary Kay Dobson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponca City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed here because of past experience w/ Best Western Plus. This room was nice, but a bit tight for the fee we payed to stay. It was a clean room, though. The staff was EXTREMELY kind & helpful! Enjoyed the Manger's coctail reception. Bottom line, if you don't mind staying away from the tourist attraction of the Downtown district, I'm sure we could have got a better deal. Also, parking in the Downtown district is pretty bad!

Room Tip: Suite by the pool was fine. Kids playing in the pool got out promptly at closing time. Bar/breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thanks for reviewing our property! We do have a great staff and I am so proud of the way they go above and beyond to make our guests happy. We really strive for that above all else. We are conveniently located a block from Main avenue and the train depot. It is a quieter yet convenient location. You can park your car in our lot and not worry about finding a spot downtown or paying for parking in the train's lot. We do offer continental breakfast and 2 complimentary cocktails for each adult in the party for each night of the stay. It may be a few dollars more but we do try and offer a bit more value with our rates.
We greatly appreciate your business and hope you will come back someday soon!

Mary Kay Dobson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

A very good hotel for the price. All the amenities and a friendly staff. A short walk to the downtown to the train, shops, restaurants and retail stores. Durango is a nice town and the hotel is convenient enough that walking can be done easily. A nice breakfast bar in the morning starts you off just right.

Room Tip: Hotel is right in the Durango/Silverton RR tracks. Get a back room so you can view it easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thank you so much for the nice review. We do have a great location. The south side of the hotel is right next to the railroad yard and the higher floors do have a view of that and the river. We are just a block away from the depot and downtown. You can park your car and walk everywhere and not worry about finding a spot in the busy downtown area. We are really glad that you enjoyed the breakfast ! We appreciate your review and hope that you enjoyed your time in Durango.

Mary Kay Dobson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
269 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Great location, good size rooms, ok quick breafast included along with a couple of drinks at happy hour. The drinks which include craft beer on tap is served in the breakfast area so it is kind of weird to drink beer surrounded by cereals, etc. Indoor pool and hot tub is nice and is set in the center of the hotel rather then a separate area. Nice place to stay but not sure what the Plus means unless it means a better bed and pillows as the bedding was very comfortable

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly appreciate your honest feedback. The “Plus” in Best Western Plus means increased and upgraded amenities. Some of those amenities include; in-room mini fridge, microwave, 42” flat screen TV, desk and office chair, fitness center, and free wireless internet. Upgrades include bath amenities, breakfast, bedding, pillows and mattresses. We try to give you a little something extra by providing complimentary cocktails in the evening and newspapers in the morning. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This property is centrally located close to old town. Its facilities are rather dated and in kind of odd arrangement. Our room was facing the indoor pool and entrance door was in glass providing little intimacy. I would have rather prefer a room with access from car park.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avaotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your room. We do have several options here at this hotel. We have inside rooms that do not have the glass door and outside rooms that do not have the glass door. We would have been happy to relocate you had we known of your disappointment. We do have a great location, close to downtown and the train. I also hope that you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast and complimentary evening cocktails. We do appreciate your business and hope that you enjoyed your time in Durango.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We are been impressed with this motel. Its a block from the historic downtown area, which is full of resturants, etc. The customer service is as good as it gets. EVERYBODY is friendly, well mannered and helpful. Room was clean and well appointed. Free drinks in the evening hit the spot. Highly recommend this place from all perspectives.....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alsebw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcha, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review. We do have a great staff here that prides itself on customer service. We hope you return soon! We greatly appreciate your comments and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#4 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 862 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#2 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 32 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Address: 400 E Second Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn! Located only 1.5 blocks from the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. BEST WESTERN Rio Grande Inn is perfect for the train enthusiasts of all ages. You can leave your vehicle in our parking lot and take a short to the train depot. Free HAPPY HOUR every evening from 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM. Includes(2) complimentary drinks per guest. Free HOT BREAKFAST every morning. Get your day stared right with our extended breakfast: Hot sausage, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy, biscuits, fresh fruit, yogurt, OJ and coffee. Walking distance to world class dining, galleries and amazing shopping. Some guests come for our top notch skiing. Take advantage of our GREAT location and rates when in town for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Best Western + Iniative so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing