We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice in Durango”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Mountain Shadows
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The hotel was selected because of reviews here on TripAdvisor combined with available rates. We considered staying closer to downtown, but at a much higher price. It turned out that the drive downtown only takes some 7 minutes and little problem with traffic. We even took the nice and paved pathway along the stream one night. About 3.5 miles each direction and a very nice and well-kept path.
The room was nice and clean, the AC a bit noisy/inefficient and the beds were comfortable. HSIA worked fine and no problems connecting to the service.
The staff was friendly, attentive and helped out with everything we asked for. Breakfast was standard+, but the breakfast room has very few seats and tables compared to number of rooms = a bit crowded in the morning.
All in all - a good choice if you need to choose a hotel in Durango!

Room Tip: Bring your swim trunks - they have a nice pool and hot tub!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Mountain Shadows
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 623 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Our room was clean and roomy and beautiful. It's definitely worth the stay while visiting Durango. The staff was very friendly . It's location was easy to find. The Free wifi was a plus. Free breakfast was included

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank VWilkins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

A good clean room with a very attentive staff along with convenient access to Durango's attractions made this a good value. The staff accommodated tired travelers with the minimum of fuss and the maximum efficiency.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Alfred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Best Western. Rooms were very clean and service was good. They had cookies when we arrived, and the staff was friendly. The shampoo in the room was very nice, and the beds were comfortable. It was great to have a microwave and refrigerator in our room. We were impressed with their breakfast selection. Our daughter loved the pool.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

They knew what was going on!! in so many words! They had our check-in ready, also gave us a choice of upper/lower floors. Told us about the pool, guest services, etc. The last day we had a BIG change of plans, we had seen the train boarding & called the front desk becuz it was going to be check out day, nstead they offered to book the room ahead of time for us so we could ride the train and our belongings would be safe! i luved their hospitality! I would book and refer to anyone in staying ther!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank naniban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We booked this hotel sight unseen through a popular online travel site and after spending one night there, we were ready to change. The room was clean and only minutes from restaurants and downtown, however I do not believe I have ever slept on another mattress quite so uncomfortable. It was VERY firm as another poster said. My back still hurts.

We were scheduled to stay three nights. Since we pre-paid, we could not get a refund but decided to leave a day early anyway even though we were not reimbursed. I did tell the front desk clerk about the uncomfortable bed and received a limited response.

The city is charming and it seemed like there were a few places to choose from.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Museick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Love staying here! Well-appointed, quiet rooms; indoor pool & hot tub; good breakfast; kind & helpful staff. This hotel is not close to downtown sights, shopping, and restaurants, so that may deter some, however, it was perfect for me - close to my Durango family.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 34 in Durango
260 reviews
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#7 of 34 in Durango
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn and Suites Durango
2.6 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mountain Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mountain Shadows

Address: 3255 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4248
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Durango
#9 Family Hotel in Durango
#10 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range: $83 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Mountain Shadows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Mountain Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain Shadows Hotel Durango
Best Western Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing