We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Mountain Shadows
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, United States
1 review
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Best Western. Rooms were very clean and service was good. They had cookies when we arrived, and the staff was friendly. The shampoo in the room was very nice, and the beds were comfortable. It was great to have a microwave and refrigerator in our room. We were impressed with their breakfast selection. Our daughter loved the pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    234
    82
    28
    17
See reviews for
232
225
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2014

They knew what was going on!! in so many words! They had our check-in ready, also gave us a choice of upper/lower floors. Told us about the pool, guest services, etc. The last day we had a BIG change of plans, we had seen the train boarding & called the front desk becuz it was going to be check out day, nstead they offered to book the room ahead of time for us so we could ride the train and our belongings would be safe! i luved their hospitality! I would book and refer to anyone in staying ther!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank naniban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We booked this hotel sight unseen through a popular online travel site and after spending one night there, we were ready to change. The room was clean and only minutes from restaurants and downtown, however I do not believe I have ever slept on another mattress quite so uncomfortable. It was VERY firm as another poster said. My back still hurts.

We were scheduled to stay three nights. Since we pre-paid, we could not get a refund but decided to leave a day early anyway even though we were not reimbursed. I did tell the front desk clerk about the uncomfortable bed and received a limited response.

The city is charming and it seemed like there were a few places to choose from.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Museick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Love staying here! Well-appointed, quiet rooms; indoor pool & hot tub; good breakfast; kind & helpful staff. This hotel is not close to downtown sights, shopping, and restaurants, so that may deter some, however, it was perfect for me - close to my Durango family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I would definitely recommend it and would stay here again. We usually stay at 4 Star hotels and I was not looking forward to staying here but the hotel room was excellent and the staff was very professional. Breakfast was average at best, but it was included in the price of the room. The pool is located in the center of the parking lot in a clear dome. For the price paid the value was very good. Only two miles from downtown - 5 minutes drive. A nice river walk is close by.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank SantaFeNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiprock, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I brought 21 middle schoolers from the Navajo Reservation to Durango to tour Ft. Lewis College. Some had never stayed at a motel before. They loved the pool! The staff complimented them on their behavior. I compliment the staff on making them feel welcome.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Maryellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Melissa at the front desk had cookies for me, warm from the oven! My reservation was set and the lobby was much cleaner than the other best western (inn and suites was run down). Melissa helped me fix the doubles bed into a king (VERY NICE). Clean room, Clean sheets, cool pool and hot tub that is actually usable, and fresh fruit infused water at the front desk. loving this place so far

Room Tip: i got it on price line.com best deals. it's kinda risky , but if you read up and do the google m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umbrellaone7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
217 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 33 in Durango
512 reviews
2.3 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#6 of 33 in Durango
461 reviews
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mountain Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mountain Shadows

Property: Best Western Mountain Shadows
Address: 3255 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4248
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Durango
#9 Family Hotel in Durango
#10 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Mountain Shadows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Mountain Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain Shadows Hotel Durango
Best Western Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing