We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat town - Durango”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Mountain Shadows
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Manzanita
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Neat town - Durango”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Huge room with huge king bed and firm mattress. Especially like the fact that the sink light does not shine into the bed area due to the layout of the room. Motel has all the amenities of the standard Best Western including a covered pool. Motel is about 2 miles to downtown and the railroad.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank BostonBobofNehalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    240
    83
    28
    17
See reviews for
241
228
27
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milliken, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We loved this hotel! The beds were clean and comfortable, and the TV was nice. Not to mention the bathrooms were clean too! The only problem was that the plumbing in our room was bad and caused a 'tic, tic, tic, tic, tic...' noise all through the night, not to mention water damage.

The pool area was creative and awesome! I love how the pool went to 9 feet and not just 5 or 6. The glass dome over the pool was a nice and relaxing touch, but it looked a little odd from the road and in the parking lot. The hot tub was nice, and the fountain was a beautiful, yet worthless, touch.

The staff in the lobby were very nice and helpful. The lobby itself was western-themed and comfortable. The large fireplace added an extra homey touch. Their continental breakfast was expansive and delicious! It was also nice of the staff to bake fresh, chewy cookies when breakfast ends.

The hotel was also close to many attractions, including various restaurants, the Discovery Museum, the river (if you're a fishing kind of person), the local history museum, and the Main Street strip.

I loved this hotel. It's a cheap alternative to the Best Western PLUS, and higher quality than the no-tell-motels and other dumpy places in Durango.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the pool, because it gets REALLY cold when you're running to and forth in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JynxieLynxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DURANGO, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I recommend this hotel to anyone going to or through Durango, Colorado. I was very impressed and so very comfortable. My only regret was I was unable to stay longer. I hope to return soon and will make it a point to go just to stay at Mountain Shadows Best Western. I have already recommended this place to my family. We have always stayed there through the years and have always been treated with respect. Thank You. It makes such a difference.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Glenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Town Line, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The rooms were spacious with a wall separating the vanity and bathroom from the rest of the room which is something I appreciate. The beds were very firm (something I generally don't prefer) but surprisingly comfortable, and the pillows were amazing. At first glance, the room appeared to be clean enough, but upon inspection of the baseboard style heating system, I discovered what appeared to be literally years of fuzzy looking dirt and dust. The same type of thing was found in the fan in the bathroom, which was excessively loud and annyoing. Also, the bathtub was clogged and would not drain which made taking a shower rather gross (although the staff did appear do be very responsive to this when I brought it up the next morning). Breakfast was okay and typical of other "free hot breakfast" offers; however when my son accidentally spilled his juice on the floor, we cleaned it up with white paper napkins that quickly turned black from all of the dirt that was on the floor - I don't think that floor has been mopped in months. Despite all of this, the stay was very comfortable and quiet and the staff was amazing. We had booked and paid for two nights in advance but had a last minute change of plans and checked out after only one night. I figured we would just have to "eat" that second night's fee, and I didn't bother to ask for a refund, but to my surprise, the staff was very friendly and did refund the second night without being asked.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Loved the super large rooms, I had a wonderful couch and large king bed. I liked having the vanity outside the bathroom. Shower was strong and great. My room had a frig and microwave. I did not have a desk but the table and coffee table worked just fine. The breakfast was above average. I liked the fresh fruit and whipped cream for the waffles. Nice breakfast area, sometimes they were pretty busy so advise you go early. Staff was really nice and there for whatever you need. They took me accidentally throwing away the room key with my morning breakfast trash graciously !!! The enclosed pool looked fun though I didn't have time to use it.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong here. But I expect if you can use a King over two queens that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tooele, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Super nice hotel. Big, clean rooms. Kids loved the pool and the funky covering to see the sky. Friendly staff. Very accommodating. The breakfast was YUMMY. Best waffles with berries and whip cream; again kids loved them!

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the pool-it's across the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momofmechamkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The staff was super!! I made a wrong reservation and they fixed it and kept the same discount. Room was clean and very comfortable and breakfast was hot and perfect. Loved the fact that they make fresh cookies in the afternoon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 918joanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
240 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 33 in Durango
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mountain Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mountain Shadows

Property: Best Western Mountain Shadows
Address: 3255 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4248
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Durango
#9 Family Hotel in Durango
#10 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Mountain Shadows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Mountain Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain Shadows Hotel Durango
Best Western Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing