We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor design of doorway into room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Mountain Shadows
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Poor design of doorway into room”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed in a room that dropped down a step immediately inside the doorway. Because of this design is was easy for my tall husband (6'3") to hit his head on the top of the doorway on his way out. I'm sure this is not up to code. No one warned us during the check in process and he received a huge bump on his head and a big headache because of this. No one did anything to accommodate him when he told them about the poor design and getting hit on the head. Other than that, this is a motelly type of hotel. Very dated. Breakfast was good and the bed was very compfortable though. It is located on the far side of town quite a bit away from the downtown area on Main Street (a few miles).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    236
    82
    28
    17
See reviews for
237
226
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is definitely, by far, the best Best Western I have stayed in. It's rooms are big, the staff is friendly, the breakfast is really good, and the pool/hottub area is awesome. However, I slept very little as the heater pipes (or some sort of pipes) were moaning and hissing all night. My husband didn't notice it, but I did. Other than that, really great stay for the $.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shepbryson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is the only hotel that I have ever seen such a great free food selection! The lobby (super cute by the way) was always stocked with delicious little snacks. Plus the lobby is open 24/7! They bake fresh chocolate chip cookies every afternoon!
Also the breakfast was phenomenal! Everything was very clean and there was such a broad selection of foods! Delicious!
Great staff too! Very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask about the reward program!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy_Duke8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The stay at the motel was very good. The staff was exceptional and the facilities were excellent. The breakfast was always well stocked. The receptionists were always friendly and answered all questions or provided help when requested. The maids were courteous and very efficient in leaning the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The room appaired to be clan and the beds were comortable but the smell on the sofa was horible and they had a problem with roaches. The pool was nice and clean and it was an indoor dome so we enjoyed the mountain views.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Apache, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel was very nice and the staff was quite accommodating. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was well stocked. We did not use the pool- it was somewhat awkward being in the middle of the parking lot and next to the road. The hotel was within a short drive of food and bars, but you could not easily walk anywhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Theresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Aging but updated, this simple spot with a simple breakfast was clean and met our needs. Best part was that is way just around the corner from 4th Ave trailhead to the Animas Mountain trail. On the outskirts of town, but the town center isn't a long drive.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
221 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 33 in Durango
514 reviews
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
2.3 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#6 of 33 in Durango
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mountain Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mountain Shadows

Property: Best Western Mountain Shadows
Address: 3255 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4248
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Durango
#9 Family Hotel in Durango
#10 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Mountain Shadows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Mountain Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain Shadows Hotel Durango
Best Western Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing