We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Mountain Shadows
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Durango, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The stay at the motel was very good. The staff was exceptional and the facilities were excellent. The breakfast was always well stocked. The receptionists were always friendly and answered all questions or provided help when requested. The maids were courteous and very efficient in leaning the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    240
    83
    28
    17
See reviews for
242
228
27
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Rancho, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The room appaired to be clan and the beds were comortable but the smell on the sofa was horible and they had a problem with roaches. The pool was nice and clean and it was an indoor dome so we enjoyed the mountain views.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Apache, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel was very nice and the staff was quite accommodating. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was well stocked. We did not use the pool- it was somewhat awkward being in the middle of the parking lot and next to the road. The hotel was within a short drive of food and bars, but you could not easily walk anywhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Theresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Aging but updated, this simple spot with a simple breakfast was clean and met our needs. Best part was that is way just around the corner from 4th Ave trailhead to the Animas Mountain trail. On the outskirts of town, but the town center isn't a long drive.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audubon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Best Western - Mountain Shadow was worth the stay within the North Portion of the Durango City Limits. The Breakfast in the morning had many choices and the Pool was a pleasant surprise. The Location was actually only 2 Miles from the star of Downtown. The Front Desk was a great help with the Activities offered in the Downtown Area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Susanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewey, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

There is something to be said about the long forgotten motor lodges of days gone by.
I love them (be sure to reserve a ground floor room, there’s NO elevator here).
A simple check in, back your car up to your room’s door, unload your gear and you're set for a lovely stay.
We had reserved our room for 2 nights, but along our journey, we decided to change that to 3 instead. All it took was a phone call to the front desk the night before.
This is an older property, but then Durango is on old town. The room was spacious, well appointed and most of all CLEAN. At night both of us put on socks, white socks to wear to bed. Those socks were still white after the three nights!
The breakfast area right off the lobby area is a bit small, but then you could always take your free food to your room. The coffee was very good, which is saying something for free hotel coffee.
We were here to visit with old friends and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doni-lei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is clean and comfortable, but older. It was easy to find and get to. There was an average breakfast served which is included in price of room. It is a 2 story building with no elevator which may pose a problem for some travelers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
529 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn and Suites Durango
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mountain Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mountain Shadows

Property: Best Western Mountain Shadows
Address: 3255 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4248
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Durango
#9 Family Hotel in Durango
#10 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Mountain Shadows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Best Western, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Mountain Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain Shadows Hotel Durango
Best Western Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing