We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Mountain Shadows
Nearby Hotels
$199
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strater Hotel(Durango)
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
$140
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites(Durango)(Great Value!)
$166
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
$153
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$249
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (675)
Filter reviews
675 results
Traveler rating
265
268
92
33
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
268
92
33
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscovered poolwafflesroom was cleanhot tubgreen chilicity marketgreat poolbest westernsparking lotthe north endthe breakfast areastay there againair conditionerno elevatorenjoyed our staycookiescoffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
535 - 540 of 675 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Best Western - Mountain Shadow was worth the stay within the North Portion of the Durango City Limits. The Breakfast in the morning had many choices and the Pool was a pleasant surprise. The Location was actually only 2 Miles from the star of Downtown. The Front Desk was a great help with the Activities offered in the Downtown Area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Susanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

There is something to be said about the long forgotten motor lodges of days gone by.
I love them (be sure to reserve a ground floor room, there’s NO elevator here).
A simple check in, back your car up to your room’s door, unload your gear and you're set for a lovely stay.
We had reserved our room for 2 nights, but along our journey, we decided to change that to 3 instead. All it took was a phone call to the front desk the night before.
This is an older property, but then Durango is on old town. The room was spacious, well appointed and most of all CLEAN. At night both of us put on socks, white socks to wear to bed. Those socks were still white after the three nights!
The breakfast area right off the lobby area is a bit small, but then you could always take your free food to your room. The coffee was very good, which is saying something for free hotel coffee.
We were here to visit with old friends and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doni-lei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is clean and comfortable, but older. It was easy to find and get to. There was an average breakfast served which is included in price of room. It is a 2 story building with no elevator which may pose a problem for some travelers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We arrived at the hotel right in the middle of a hail storm, it started when we were about 3 miles away from the hotel, we were arriving from Grand Junction, what an experience, but it was so nice to get to the hotel and into the reception area and front desk.

This is our second stay at this particular hotel and we chose it based on our past experience and stay. We stayed four nights and made this our base for our driving tours around the area.

Upon our hotel we were greeted by the Front Desk clerk who was very efficient and handled our check in without any issues. Most of our information had been done via computer a couple of months earlier, so with just the normal formalities of signing the Hotel documentation, were were given our keys and on our way to our room.

The room was spacious, clean and well laid out, twin queen size beds just as we requested on the ground floor. With parking the vehicle in front of the room made it easy for unloading and loading when required. The Hotel is on the main road, but the noise from the passing traffic was minimal.

The two issues we had with the room were the shower, when we turned the shower on most of the water still flowed from the faucet, the little pull up lever on the faucet was faulty, which minimized the water pressure flowing from the shower nozzle. The second item also involved the bathroom was the toilet cistern. It would intermittently flush and during the night that would wake us up. Obviously the ball cock system in the cistern was faulty and needed replacing, in my opinion.

Well after the first night I notified the front desk and they made a note of it, they would have maintenance attend to it.

That night, after our day was done we returned to our room and found that the shower had been fixed, but the toilet was still the same, it would intermittently top up the cistern when the level got low. So I tried to fix the problem myself by turning off the water to the cistern, but that valve wouldn't fully shut off, but at least the topping off only occurred once a night, and we put up with it for the rest of our stay.

One other issue we had was with the door card entry system, the green light would come on after placing the card in the door lock system but when you went to enter the lock remained in place. After a few attempts of trying to get into the room I went back to the front desk and informed the Desk Clerk of the problem. He returned to the room with me and placed the card into the card slot, the light went green and he couldn't get it to open, so he swiped the card again and this time lifted the door handle which opened the door and allowed us to enter the room once again. He explained that sometimes this happens, and you may need to do this in the future to open the door.

The breakfast offered was good, with a selection of cereals, pastries, fresh fruit and a spacious breakfast area if wanted to eat there.

Overall I think our room was comfortable, yes there were a few issues, but we weren't in the room all day so we put up with those little inconveniences.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Overall fine for a one night stay. Room smelled of Mr. Clean, but that's better than it being dirty. In retrospect, I should have paid the $15-20 more for a hotel with inside rooms and a fitness center.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews