We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“try somewhere else” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Ivins, Utah
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“try somewhere else”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is an outdated overpriced hotel in Durango. It was busy with tourists, packed in the breakfast area, and generally not a very pleasant place. Perhaps the cost was high because it was summer with no shortage of guests, but it was not a good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hana h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    213
    75
    26
    16
See reviews for
204
203
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McFarland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Durango seemed expensive this time of year. This hotel was near the bike path, which worked well for us. Breakfast was good, afternoon cookies are a nice touch. This is a motel with no inside halls. It is on the highway with highway noise when door was open but theh door kept most of the noise out. Foot noise on second floor was somewhat bothersome. Beds where average.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was my worst hotel stay in a long time. The check in clerk would not honor my reservation confirmation even though I showed it to him. He said his system showed me checking in the next night and they were full. After waiting 30 minutes (while he checked in other guests) he sent me to another Best Western which cost more money (they wouldn't even comp me a room or discount it). When we finally were given a room the next day, the bed was so uncomfortable and the air conditioner so noisy it was hard to sleep (and we were there for 3 days!). The pool was so heavily clorinated that on sunny days, the air hurt to breath. There was an ashtray outside our "non-smoking" room so when my children and I left our room, we either had to walk past smokers or smell the ashtray. The wi-fi practically never worked - it took forever for pages to load so we just used my iPhone to look up things on the internet or check email (did not have this problem at other Best Westerns). The saving grace was that they served freshly baked chocolate chip cookies in the lobby in the afternoon. This was not worth the price we paid

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank DM389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed four nights. Two of the days our room was not cleaned, even after two requests. It was really just a small, crappy motel with thin walls, semi-scary bathroom, dismal amenities (soap, shampoo etc.) that were not replaced. My major complaint was with the quality of the room. Two weeks previous to this stay, we stayed at the Hampton Inn. There was no comparison-- the Hampton Inn was like heaven. Curiously, the Hampton Inn is rated two stars.

Room Tip: This is a 1 1/2 star hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Although this is out on Main and 32nd street, it is easy to get into town as the excellent FREE Durango trolley stops less than a block away and runs summer time from 7am to 10pm.

Rooms comfortable, breakfast standard BW fare. Useful guest laundry. Pleasant staff.

Only downside was awful wifi. Snail pace at best and that was when a connection was possible.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gloandbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We spent a pleasant two nights in the Best Western Mountain Shadows in Durango. This was a nice motel, quiet, with a comfortable bed. The price seemed high, but consistent with the resort character of Durango.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Driving up to the Best Western we were dismayed to discover this is a motel, not a hotel. All rooms are open to the parking lot. That being said the young man at check in was very nice and we were greeted with cucumber water and free oatmeal raisin cookies.

The room has been updated with granite tops on all the furniture and bathroom. Carpet was newer and there is a mini frig and microwave. It is located on a loud busy street five minutes from downtown but is well insulated enough that it isn't bothersome. The room was very clean and beds were comfortable.

There is a cool domed structure that has a pool and hot tub in the middle of the parking lot.

Breakfast is continental with lots of cereals, pastries, hot waffles and cold boiled eggs.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annagrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.3 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#2 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#4 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Property: BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows
Address: 3255 North Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Durango
#9 Family Hotel in Durango
#10 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain Shadows Hotel Durango
Best Western Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing