We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Mountain Shadows
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are very nice. Modern and seem recently updated. If not it means the hotel is very well maintained. Nice to have an indoor pool and hot tub in winter. Great price and waffles for breakfast :-). Hotel staff was pleasant. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrico1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    228
    80
    27
    17
See reviews for
224
219
26
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

October 19-21 Hubby & I decided that it would be fun to spend the weekend in Durango.... The weather has been a bit warm and there was still fall color on the trees! Best Western Mountain Shadow hotel has been in Durango for quite a long time... and this was our first time to stay there. Our room was fine...looks like they will need to update the carpet soon...some stains..but still clean. Being right on Main street we wondered about the traffic noise...but we really didn't hear anything. The Breakfast was fine, Location is pretty handy for what we did on the weekend - Downtown, Mesa Verde, Shopping & Honeyville. Housekeeping is ready to take care of the rooms in the morning, our room was always fresh when we got back. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: We were upstairs.... No overhead noise above us! :0)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMCruzzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
157 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel was very good. It is a little dated on the outside but our room was updated and modern and also very clean. The free breakfast was also very good. Would stay again and recommend to others. The hotel is close to lots to do.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
198 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had booked in for five nights and I was surprised to find it more like a motel than a hotel (in appearance) with the carpark right in front of the rooms, located off the main street. It certainly didn’t offer a feeling of security or safety.

On a few nights the hotel was fully booked and it was a struggle to find a park (surely they didn’t have more rooms than parking spaces??). There is a free (& frequent) shuttle trolley that goes past the hotel that will take you into the town centre – which we used quite often – there is plenty of parking in the town centre (if you know where to look) but why drive when there is a free trolley?

The rooms themselves are quite large in size, with a small ‘vanity’ room between the main room & the bathroom and offered plenty of storage space. The bed was comfortable and we had no issues sleeping at night. There was also a desk and sofa – however the desk was positioned directly in front of the AC unit (which was industrial in strength & sound!) and we had to move the table out of the way – so it didn’t obstruct the airflow.

We had work to do while we were on this trip and were constantly walking down to reception asking them to reset the wifi – as the signal would fade or just cut off (and you would have to relog on – every 40 min or so) – I understand this isn’t a business hotel – but if you’re promoting a service you should be able to provide that service to a reasonable standard.

Breakfast was possibly the biggest disappointment. Like most other BW hotels – there is a waffle maker, but bread, bagels, muffins, yogurt, some fruit, cereal, juice and hot drinks were also provided, However none of the bread, bagels or muffins were fresh, in fact they tasted a day or two old – if you weren’t going to toast them – they weren’t edible. As an alternative we had waffles for breakfast, but you can only do that so often before you get bored – we ended up eating out one morning as we just couldn’t face another breakfast.
On a couple of occasions other guests complained about the juice tasting watered down or an item running out – these should of been checked prior to the start of breakfast and monitored by the staff during the breakfast service.

The receptionists seemed a little preoccupied and spent a lot of time conversing amongst themselves rather than assisting with the guests (in the morning!). Overall these are small issues, but collectively they made a big difference to the quality of our stay; rectifying the little things would ensure they offer a better experience to hotel guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Bilbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at here one night as we were traveling through Durango. It is located on the north end of town. We had a room on the second floor with a king bed. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice the room was. There was a sofa, sofa table, desk, dresser, small fridge, microwave, and single cup coffee maker. Most everything was topped with a granite top which was nice because it is so easy to clean off and looks nice. The bed was very comfortable as were the pillows.

There is a continental breakfast that is standard. Cereal, toast, bagels, waffles, yogurt, fruit, hard boiled eggs, etc. The staff at check-in and check-out were friendly and helpful.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbk3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Best Western Mountain Shadows in Durango was great! (Note: There are three Best Westerns in this town.) We were in room 221 for two nights. The room was very clean. There was a small refrigerator and even a microwave. The four pillows were soft and squashy. TV was good quality with an easy to clean remote and a comfortable couch placed in front of it as well. Awesome mesh computer chair at the desk was very comfortable, so was inclined to stay connected to the Internet a bit longer with their free wi-fi. The continental breakfast was good and the atmosphere of the eating room was warm and cozy. There were waffle-makers, with a strawberry/blueberry mix (not fresh fruit though) to put on top, or syrup; cereal; juices and water; coffee and tea; Danishes; sliced peaches (canned); fresh bananas and apples; Yoplait yogurt in peach, strawberry, or strawberry-banana; hard-boiled eggs; bagels and English muffins; Promise spread; cream cheese spread; fruit jellies; smooth peanut butter, etc. I’m sure that I’m forgetting some things. Though we did not utilize their pool, it looked very intriguing. It was enclosed in a clear but tinted Epcot-center-like structure. There was a little fountain inside as well. This location is near the edge of town, but just up the street is the Serious Texas BBQ. Go there...seriously! I'll be adding a review for them later.

There were little things that I would change. The bed was a bit firmer than I’d like, but I’ve noticed that about a lot of Best Westerns. The fan that is combined with the bathroom light was a bit on the loud side, so wouldn’t want to leave it on all night as a night light, as some folks do, nor even turn it on while your roommate is sleeping. Bring a small flashlight instead or a plug-in night light. Someone nearby left their fan on all night the first night and you could hear a bit of the hum. We laughed over the fact that the toilet paper holder is pretty far away from the toilet. It seems that it would be an easy fix, which would help guests feel even more comfortable.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Best Western Mountain Shadows and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen12415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, UT
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Not wild about motel exteriors (outdoor-facing rooms) but inside it was roomy, clean and comfortable. I liked the "clean remote" for the TV, too -- thinking of all those strangers' hands on the TV remote control always gives me pause. The breakfast was OK, but needed eggs, sausage or bacon as another hot option. I enjoyed my waffle, though.

I booked this through Hotwire for a better rate.

Room Tip: Hotel is close to a busy road, so request a room toward the middle for a quieter night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcbyself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.3 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
453 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
503 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mountain Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mountain Shadows

Property: Best Western Mountain Shadows
Address: 3255 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4248
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Durango
#9 Family Hotel in Durango
#10 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Mountain Shadows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Mountain Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain Shadows Hotel Durango
Best Western Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing