We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room...inside. Not so nice...outside.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Mountain Shadows
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Worldwide
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice Room...inside. Not so nice...outside.”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The room was very nice. Good location. The outside of the hotel was ugly. The breakfast was nice, but not environmental - lots of styrofoam. But, the coolest thing was that they had a waffle machine. A waffle machine!

We went swimming at the pool. It was a nice pool. However, they did cover a hole in the tile on the pool side with a granite piece that looked like it was formerly a table top. My son slipped on the granite and hit his head very hard. Then the pool wasn't so fun anymore.

Luckily, he was soon fine and we went downtown to an Irish Pub and had good food.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IMAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    219
    79
    26
    16
See reviews for
214
212
25
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

My work brought me to Durango, CO for five weeks. I tend to travel quite a bit and staying long periods of time in a hotel is nothing new to me. I have to say that my stay at Mountain Shadows was absolutely the BEST experience I have had with a hotel during my travels. The staff is incredibly helpful and friendly. So much so that now that I have arrived back in LA I actually miss their smiling faces. (Seriously...that is a first for me) The room was spacious and very comfortable. The furnishings are new. There is a microwave and a mini fridge in the room which really cut down on having to go out to restaurants to eat. The bathroom area has granite tops and the shower has granite walls. The water pressure and temperature was consistently perfect. They also offer breakfast in the morning. Which has a nice selection of food. I will miss the really tasty belgian waffles that you cook yourself! The location is also great. The free trolly that runs up and down Main Ave picks you up about 50 ft from the hotel. The walls are apparently very thick because i never heard anyone who was staying in the rooms next to me. There is also a pool and jacuzzi which is actually covered by a dome. Which is perfect because it snowed quite a lot during my stay but I was able to enjoy the facilities regardless of the outside temperature. I also noticed how clean everything stayed. The pool area was always immaculate. The water in both pool and jacuzzi was always clean and clear. And the perfect temperature too. The staff that actually cleans your room were extrememly helpful and consistently friendly. I will absolutely stay there every time I visit Durango. Also there is a grocery store and a liquor store on the next street. Seriously awesome Hotel! Oh! and one more thing!!!! The towels! I have never stayed at a hotel where the towels smelled fresh and were actually soft and absorbant. I think a lot of hotels use chemicals when they wash their towels to try to preserve them as long as possible.Thankfully not this place! All the towels as well as the bed linens and duvet were fresh and soft. Which really makes a difference when you are staying at a hotel for such a long period of time.

Room Tip: This hotel is not huge. I stayed on the second level in the middle overlooking the pool area. I pret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Everyone there was extremely nice and helpful. We decided to stay an extra couple of nights and they extended our discounted rate without question. Our king room had all granite counter tops in. It was very recently remodeled. Carpet looked new as well. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RMR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
155 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Great basic motel style place, clean rooms, comfortable bed, great shower pressure. Friendly helpful staff. We would stay there again next time we pass thru the area. It was nice to walk down the street to the Serious Texas Bar B Que restaurant.

Room Tip: The end rooms are close to the road, so if noise bothers you ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sewfastnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Definitely nothing fancy but it was clean and well worth the price. I'm pretty picky and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigaman38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

The beds are very comfortable and the showers have good water pressure with tall shower heads. The rooms have been updated in the past couple years. The complimentary breakfast is good including yogurt, make yourself waffles, hard boiled eggs.... assorted teas. The swimming pool and hot tub is conveniently located with lots of personality (clear bubble dome) and the hot tub is great for after skiing. The hotel is located close to the Ski Barn(most reasonable ski rentals) and great restaurants (Zia's....). Along the complimentary trolley line that takes you all over Durango! A beautiful 20 minute drive from Purgatory ski area!

Room Tip: Book 14days in advanced for amazing pricing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wenbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Great staff and clean rooms. Stayed 4 nights with no problems and the breakfast was good. I would use this hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: 2nd floor for the view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gt5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.3 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#5 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
4.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mountain Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mountain Shadows

Property: Best Western Mountain Shadows
Address: 3255 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4248
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Durango
#9 Family Hotel in Durango
#10 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Mountain Shadows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Mountain Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain Shadows Hotel Durango
Best Western Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing