We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western-Best Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Wichita, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Western-Best Service”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The people at the Best Western Durango Inn & Suites were what made our trip memorable. We had special help from Edy and Carlita, who were excellent. The woman who runs the breakfast area each morning is another fantastic person who cares about your experience and interacts in a friendly manner. The staff is first rate and the price was very reasonable. The room and bathroom clean!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at Best Western Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Our employees work so hard. Thank you for recognizing them for their outstanding service. It means more to them than you know. We are so happy you had a terrific stay and thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review. Your comments are so helpful for us and other travelers. Much appreciated! See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    246
    118
    34
    28
See reviews for
272
228
40
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

On our way from Prescott Valley, AZ to Boulder, CO we stopped overnight at this hotel, having stayed there one year ago. Again, we were treated royally - including our Airedale, Daisy. Last year, we had the now-gone Airedale, Sedona with us. We were surprised to learn that we could go around to the patio with Daisy for the continental breakfast, where Daisy met another canine, a friendly Golden Retriever.

Out thanks to best Western for being sensitive to our needs!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if accompanied by a canine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEANPIERRE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at Best Western Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you! We are so glad you had a terrific stay....so sorry to hear about Sedona. We are thrilled you have returned to stay and look forward to seeing you again soon. We appreciate the time you spend to do a review. We are so grateful. Call us at 970-247-3251 when you are ready to book again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

First, thought we had a suite, but no. Old, old tiny stinky crowded room. Bathroom floor so rotten it sagged, gave in spookily when walked on and squeaked LOUDLY. Opening the drapes was a mistake, because it unleashed the Dust Bowl. Drapes never dusted in their lifetime forget about cleaned...and full of cigarette holes. Room was not cleaned on our first day, bed covers just thrown over rumpled sheets. A/C loud and barely functional. Tour bus parked outside the door idling its engine ALL NIGHT. When we dared to complain the management said there were complaints about out pets, which was a complete fabrication/rigmarole as the pets were with us the entire time and in years of traveling no other complaints EVER. We left the room cleaner than when we first checked in. So tired of these cheapskate old places charging more for a horrible "pet friendly room" for tons more fees, then resorting to this kind of bullstuff when legitimate complaints are made, and they know the rooms are entirely substandard and un rentable to anyone else. This room was a health hazard as the floor obviously was ready to cave and they simply did not want to do repairs.

Look, friends, just say NO PETS but don't blame pets for poor management and lack of upkeep and health standards.

And please, if you have pets, NEVER stay here they are pet unfriendly. If you don't have pets, have fun breathing diesel fumes from the tour bus which brings obviously more valuable customers.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Owner at Best Western Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
WOW, as the owner and operator of the Best Western Durango Inn and Suites, no doubt, you can imagine how hurtful it is to be called mean spirited, cheapskate, a liar, and have my integrity put into question. It is difficult to not take such attack personally until I looked at your other Trip advisor contributions. I am sorry you had a miserable stay here and had I realized how horrible your felt our accommodations, at the moment you checked in, I would have been happy to assist in finding you a more suitable inn. We have a terrific staff that works very hard and take pride in their work. Super employees are hard to come by , from front desk staff,and housekeepers, to the maintenance staff and all in between. They have a long and wonderful history of outstanding service and dedication and they too, do not deserve to be attacked or berated. More love and care goes into this property that you can imagine. Best of luck to you in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

It was a nice place to stay. Room was nice we had a suite. The breakfast gave choices - eggs, sausage, waffles, oatmeal. cold cereal. muffins, toast.yogurt, and fruit.Close to downtown but a little to far to walk. 5 minuite drive to train station. Grandson loved the pool and hot tub was clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at Best Western Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We are so happy you had a terrific stay. It is always so fun to have the kids enjoying the pool and hot tub. We are looking forward to seeing you again. Thanks for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here. Very nice hotel for the price. Clean and comfortable. Good breakfast. Clean swimming pool. We sleep with a white noise machine, so had no problems with noise. Our sink was slightly clogged, and maintenance came quickly to address the problem. Close to downtown, but not walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at Best Western Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your specific notes and input. We appreciate your review. We look forward to having you as our guest again sometime soon! Call us at 970-247-3251!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Our stay in Durango at Best Western was good. Our room was too close to the pool and kept hearing the fence slam during the day. Personnel working in the food department were very friendly and helpful. The price of the hotels in Durango are high compared to other locations.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at Best Western Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your input. I am glad our helpful friendly staff were able to help and assist. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We came here for the Can Am Spyder Owners event and this hotel was fantastic. They have on-site coin operated washers and dryers (important when you're living off motorcycles!) and also motorcycle washing stations set up at both ends of the hotel. We were in room 214 which only had back windows overlooking the green area, but it was nice to have windows facing both directions. The staff was super-friendly and very helpful. The beds were comfortable and I was happy about the "clean remote" since I'm slightly germ phobic :)

When we first found the hotel, I thought it was a little too far away from the center of town, but it turned out to be a perfect location. Not far away at all, especially once we learned to leave the downtown area via 9th street and cross the river and go "the back way" to the hotel.

We ate at Christinas (next to the hotel) twice during the 4 days we were there and it was very good and a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at Best Western Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a terrific stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future. We really encourage folks to spend the little extra to have the suites so that you can REALLY enjoy all we have to offer. Call us when you are headed this way again at 970-247-3251.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
2.8 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 33 in Durango
528 reviews
0.7 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#6 of 33 in Durango
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Durango Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Durango Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
Address: 21382 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301-6857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#13 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Durango Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Durango Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durango Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango Inn And Suites
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing