We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Liberty, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
“Good stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was a nice hotel only a mile from town. It was a little high in price. We stayed in the suite and it was great. It had a front and a back door which was nice. If you like to walk, it has sidewalks all the way to town. The staff was very friendly. I loved the town and all the shops. We ate at the Palace Restaurant. It was very pricey and not very good. Don't recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank connerhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon. The winter is equally as terrific as the summer for a trip to Durango! Come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    216
    106
    28
    23
See reviews for
225
202
37
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent two nights at the Best Western Durango Inn & Suites and things did not get off to a good start. As we are a family of six, we thought we had found a great solution, with a 2 bedroom suite that had a king bed and 2 queen beds. Upon arrival however, we discovered that the particular suite style had a very odd setup: with a separate room with a door for the 2 beds, the king bed in a corner with a weird mirror and bath counter setup in a room with no doors and a cramped living space area. The suite design was awful. Not exactly the picture we saw from the website. But for two nights, that was livable. However, the bathroom had an awful mildew/urine/sewer smell that required each room in the suite to have an air freshener running. We were not happy.

When we requested another suite, it took nearly 40 minutes to get moved to another suite. Instead of just accommodating us, they insisted on arguing with us and wanting to inspect it themselves. They had a larger suite with two kings available, but did not want to give it to us, as it was more expensive. Instead, after finally inspecting the room, they offered a two queen suite (that was like the picture on the site). We lost a real bed, but at least the sofa bed fit two kids. And oddly, no smell or air fresheners running in this room. It was much better.

Breakfast in the morning was a pleasant surprise. One of the better ones we experienced on our trip. They had a good variety and it was kept very clean, with lots of seating inside and out. It worked out well with our kids. It made for an enjoyable start to our day.

But despite a pleasant breakfast experience, the emphasis on making the customer happy was lacking. And at a Best Western, to some degree, that is to be expected. But it was still disappointing. After driving for several hours, the last thing we want to do is sit around and wait for someone to come "inspect the smell." Next time we come back to Durango, we will definitely choose one of the other hotels nearby.

Room Tip: Don't choose the 2 BR suite with 1 King and 2 queens. You won't be happy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Owner at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Your excellent input is greatly appreciated. We regret you were mislead regarding the "Family Suite." It is one of our most popular suites among our returning family guests but can certainly understand your disappointment. Where the suite has a separate bedroom, with two queen beds, and 1 queen bed, in a semi-private room, it is surely not for everyone. and we would agree, has an unusual layout. It is located in an awkward area, and really does not receive much natural light. We will work harder to be sure our future guests understanding of the accommodations are clear. Indeed, what is most concerning is the customer service aspect of your experience. We are known for our outstanding customer service and we fell short in this instance. I was aware that there was a struggle trying to find alternate accommodations for you given the high season and lack of available inventory, however I was not aware how poorly it was handled. Our apologies. This is not our usual operation or service standard. We hope you will reconsider staying with us again and look forward to the opportunity to be of service. Again, our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here while seeing Durango and Silverton....both beautiful old world western mining towns with lively atmospheres. This hotel wasn't cheap and didn't really give us good value for money. It is motel style and our room was 124 which was removed from the busy road. It had two Queen beds and separate wash area and shower situated at the rear. The flushing system in the toilet was just not up to standard and unsatisfactory. Also, there was a distinct whiff of stale urine from the toilet area even though the toilet area did appear to be quite clean. This was the first hotel on our three week trip where we encountered this problem....a pity! The plumbing system probably needs an overhaul as it was quite noisy during the night. Our room was also dark and dull but then a lot of motel type rooms are.... Breakfast was good with hot items such as sausages and egg patties. Debby was helpful and friendly too in the dining area.
This hotel did however redeem itself with the excellent help and service given to us by Edy at the reception desk. She took time to show us the map of Durango and its restaurants and was also helpful along with her male assistant on the following day when I had trouble accessing the Internet on my iPad. She went out of her way to be helpful and was genuinely interested in our welfare. The hotel had a pool and hot tub which we didn't have time to use.

Room Tip: Ensure the bathroom is thoroughly clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMRCIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for the thorough review . We value the input and take your comments very seriously. Indeed, we are known for our cleanliness and service. We were however, disappointed to learn your room had an odor. We are investigating the situation and know that it will be addressed immediately. In addition, we recognize, through listening to our guests, that indeed, the rooms were in need of some additional lighting. As of today, every room in the Inn has brand new illumination! Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, co
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My sister, nephews and I stayed at this hotel in Durango after a long day of driving and sightseeing across Colorado. This was our jumping off point to Mesa Verde. We booked the four bed suite, for $161/nt with my AAA discount. Not bad. The hotel was easy to find, right on US 160W in Durango. Check in/check out were both fast and friendly. The room itself was really what I've come to expect from Best Western. The suite was very clean, beds and pillows were comfy. Even though the hotel was full, we heard virtually no noise from the neighbors; was able to get a good night sleep. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MileHiMel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review. This information is so valuable to our guests. Indeed, our suites are priced slightly higher than a deluxe standard room, but the addition room, and bedroom location in the back really does make for a comfy night sleep, as you know! We are looking forward to be able to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Great location and a good alternative to some of the more expensive hotels in town. It's about 5 minutes to downtown. Also very easy access to the highway, but we did not hear traffic at night while sleeping. Pool was clean.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Room20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Your input is greatly appreciated. No doubt, those reading your review will find your comments valuable. . We share your comments with the service and housekeeping staff and they are always so appreciative of the recognition. Than you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrhardt, Germany
Level Contributor
79 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Rooms:
Clean rooms with enough space for my family (4 Persons).
The room had a flat screen TV, a refridgerator and a coffee machine.
The beds are good and comfortable.
The air conditioning and the bathroom were clean.
Breakfast:
A lot of different cold and hot food, we liked it.

The hotel has a good connection to the Highway, the city and it is easy to find.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you. We value the time and effort it takes to submit reviews and so much appreciate your input. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Wonderful bedding - MOTEL WAS Clean and comfortable - Hotel Staff WAS extremely friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this facility. Rooms were quiet even though it is on a highway. Pool and Jacuzzi were well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Phyllis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your input. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we do share your feedback with our staff. They so much appreciate when guests recognize their hard work and efforts. Thank you so much and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#4 of 32 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
Address: 21382 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301-6857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#13 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durango Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango Inn And Suites
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing