We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Ok hotel, not outstanding.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Ok hotel, not outstanding.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here while seeing Durango and Silverton....both beautiful old world western mining towns with lively atmospheres. This hotel wasn't cheap and didn't really give us good value for money. It is motel style and our room was 124 which was removed from the busy road. It had two Queen beds and separate wash area and shower situated at the rear. The flushing system in the toilet was just not up to standard and unsatisfactory. Also, there was a distinct whiff of stale urine from the toilet area even though the toilet area did appear to be quite clean. This was the first hotel on our three week trip where we encountered this problem....a pity! The plumbing system probably needs an overhaul as it was quite noisy during the night. Our room was also dark and dull but then a lot of motel type rooms are.... Breakfast was good with hot items such as sausages and egg patties. Debby was helpful and friendly too in the dining area.
This hotel did however redeem itself with the excellent help and service given to us by Edy at the reception desk. She took time to show us the map of Durango and its restaurants and was also helpful along with her male assistant on the following day when I had trouble accessing the Internet on my iPad. She went out of her way to be helpful and was genuinely interested in our welfare. The hotel had a pool and hot tub which we didn't have time to use.

Room Tip: Ensure the bathroom is thoroughly clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMRCIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for the thorough review . We value the input and take your comments very seriously. Indeed, we are known for our cleanliness and service. We were however, disappointed to learn your room had an odor. We are investigating the situation and know that it will be addressed immediately. In addition, we recognize, through listening to our guests, that indeed, the rooms were in need of some additional lighting. As of today, every room in the Inn has brand new illumination! Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    203
    91
    26
    21
See reviews for
207
185
35
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
denver, co
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My sister, nephews and I stayed at this hotel in Durango after a long day of driving and sightseeing across Colorado. This was our jumping off point to Mesa Verde. We booked the four bed suite, for $161/nt with my AAA discount. Not bad. The hotel was easy to find, right on US 160W in Durango. Check in/check out were both fast and friendly. The room itself was really what I've come to expect from Best Western. The suite was very clean, beds and pillows were comfy. Even though the hotel was full, we heard virtually no noise from the neighbors; was able to get a good night sleep. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MileHiMel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review. This information is so valuable to our guests. Indeed, our suites are priced slightly higher than a deluxe standard room, but the addition room, and bedroom location in the back really does make for a comfy night sleep, as you know! We are looking forward to be able to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Great location and a good alternative to some of the more expensive hotels in town. It's about 5 minutes to downtown. Also very easy access to the highway, but we did not hear traffic at night while sleeping. Pool was clean.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Room20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Your input is greatly appreciated. No doubt, those reading your review will find your comments valuable. . We share your comments with the service and housekeeping staff and they are always so appreciative of the recognition. Than you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrhardt, Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Rooms:
Clean rooms with enough space for my family (4 Persons).
The room had a flat screen TV, a refridgerator and a coffee machine.
The beds are good and comfortable.
The air conditioning and the bathroom were clean.
Breakfast:
A lot of different cold and hot food, we liked it.

The hotel has a good connection to the Highway, the city and it is easy to find.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you. We value the time and effort it takes to submit reviews and so much appreciate your input. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Wonderful bedding - MOTEL WAS Clean and comfortable - Hotel Staff WAS extremely friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this facility. Rooms were quiet even though it is on a highway. Pool and Jacuzzi were well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Phyllis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your input. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we do share your feedback with our staff. They so much appreciate when guests recognize their hard work and efforts. Thank you so much and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013


Not the newest, shiniest luxury hotel but certainly comfortable. Stayed two nights.
Staff was extremely friendly, room was clean, and continental breakfast quite good.
Also next door to a very good restaurant which is nice.
It's a little but of a walk to the main part of town but once you get to the bridge, you are on a path which is nice.
I'd stay here again for sure.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MerlinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Your comments are greatly appreciated and valued. We are sure other travelers will find your notes helpful. We take our guest input very seriously and in addition, our staff so much appreciated knowing that their hard work does not go unrecognized. Thank you so much. Look forward to having you as our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The suites had a sitting area with sofabed and TV. The 2 queen bedroom was comfy with a flat screen TV and on the backside so no road noise.& balcony facing the back. There was a separate vanity in hall instead of bathroom. Great staff altho the outside had a worn look. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank grammieFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your input and the time and effort in submitting a review. We are glad you enjoyed our suites and enjoyed the surrounding beauty. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 32 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 416 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
Address: 21382 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301-6857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#13 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Best Western + Iniative, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durango Inn And Suites
Best Western Durango Hotel Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing