We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best choice in Durango”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Portland, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not the best choice in Durango”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed at this Best Western over New Year's eve. Thoroughly enjoyed the town of Durango, but I overall do not recommend this hotel.
Initially, based on a map search, I thought it would be a feasible walking distance to downtown; however the highway shoulder is not a safe walking route. Additionally, I had hoped the Best Western name would mean a no-frills decent, quiet place to sleep. This hotel lived up to its name in the cleanliness of the room, however it was a not a quiet place to sleep. The layout is such that every room faces the parking lot and the highway. Any activity outside your door is heard loud and clear, and if you are so unfortunate to have noisy neighbors who think 3 a.m. is a good bedtime, you are out of luck.
Overall, it's not that this is a terrible hotel - it is a clean place to sleep in Durango. However, given the layout of the hotel and the gamble that you will have respectful neighbors, you may not get a good night's sleep. Additionally, given that there are a plethora of other choices close to downtown offering perks such as a historic experience, luxurious accommodations, or competitive pricing, this is not your best option for experiencing the town of Durango.

Room Tip: Second floor on far end of building (to minimize exposure to foot traffic outside your door).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmor369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at Best Western Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Our sincerest thanks for your review. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and work hard to maintain these high standards. You make some excellent points for other travelers to consider when booking lodging in Durango. Indeed, we are located about 3/4 mile west of the historic downtown area. Althought it is not really feasible to walk to downtown, we are still close. This proximity allows us to offer a more competative rate if you are not opposed to driving to downtown thereby saving some money. In addition, we highly recommend considering a suite, which has the bedroom located in the back. As an exterior corridor Inn, often, guests appreciate the easy with which they can unload the car by pulling up right in front of their rooms in exchange for being adjacent to the highway. We regret that you did not get a good nights sleep on New Years. Please know that the majority of the rest of the year, we have very respectful and rested guests! Thanks for the terrific input and your helpful comments for others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    237
    110
    30
    26
See reviews for
249
221
39
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockledge
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel. I was in Durango a fishing trip and wanted a location that was close to town and some of the great fishing in the area. This was an excellent choice. This is a small, family owned and operated hotel and you can't beat the personal touch this provides. The room was spacious and comfortable. I especially enjoyed having breakfast on the deck with its great views.

Room Tip: Hotel is only about a mile from downtown and 3/4 of a mile from the Durango river. There are fabulo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freefaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at Best Western Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We greatly appreciate your feedback and detailed review. Your feedback is so important. We recognize the time and effort it takes to submit a review and sincerely thank you. We look forward to being of service to you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We made a last minute reservation and were pleased with everything from the front desk staff to the breakfast. The room was clean and comfortable. Convenient to the downtown area. We would recommend to others staying in Durango.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vicki1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Two night stay in a two room suite, very clean and good value. The only drawback was the aircon which kept cutting out, as is quite common with a lot of newer state of the art, irritating digital wonder machinery. I like the older models which give you frostbite. Didn't complain to the front desk as we assumed every room would be the same. Edy on the front desk was very helpful and informative and recommended the May Palace for good Chinese food. Edy's great grandfather originally came from Bodmin in Cornwall, 40 miles from where we live. The breakfast was fine and nothing ran out. The motel breakfasts probably save $20 for two people and usually set you up for the day. The motel is only a short drive from Mesa Verde and handy for the train as well. Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at Best Western Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Our sincerest thanks for your input and review. We apologize and regret, that you are absolutely correct regarding the air conditioner. They are designed to cycle off when the sensors determine that the unit may accumulate ice on the coil or in essence, "freeze up". It will only continue to chill the room to an internal preset tempurature and additionally will not initiate the compressor if it determines the outside temperature is 45 degrees or below. We recognize that some guests like it colder than 60 degrees but have been unsuccessful in finding a PTAC unit ( a new one!) that will accomplish this, based on the design. We are grateful, however, even in the middle of summer, for those chilly nights! Please know that our assiciates appreciate being recognized and that we reward their service efforts. Thank you for recognizing their dedication. Thank you and see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

This place was clean and convenient. They had a pretty good continental breakfast with friendly staff ensuring everything was was well stocked. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful at ll times. They were especially accomodating with our dogs, it was obvious that they are dog people too. They had a very large grassy area for our dogs to run around to get exercise. The only thing that would have been better is if we spent a little more to get a suite that opens up to a small patio and the grassy area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Loheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at Best Western Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We are grateful for the review and thank you for the time and effort to share your experiences with other potential guests. Dogs are indeed welcome here and we feel the $15.00 per day pet fee (plus tax) is reasonable. You are correct. The suites allow for easier access to the vast acreage behind the property and for the minimal additional room charge, it is indeed worth it not only for the additional space but the access! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The location is great, just a leisurely walk into downtown. The hotel is a bit pricey for what one gets though! I have no complaints about cleanliness or "bugs", the room, bath and bedding were just fine. What was disturbing though were trucks in the parking lot which kept their engines running half the night, one for refrigeration, another I don't know. Then there were more heavy duty Diesel pickups which started warming up their engines 'forever and a day' in the very early morning hours. - The breakfast needs improving badly! I was glad that I had booked for 1 night only and spent the next one in Cortez, CO.

Room Tip: My room was on the 1st floor. Maybe one would not be as disturbed in the rooms on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borisrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here one night on a road trip for a high school reunion. We were very disappointed when we first checked in because the room we were given had no tables (let alone outlets) for setting up our computers for work. We did ask the staff person if there was another room available and he quickly took care of the problem and found a great room that was complete with what we needed.
For the most part, it was a positive experience. But, after returning home and comparing the hotels we stayed in, this Best Western was clearly the most expensive for what we got in return. We'd probably look for something else if we stayed in Durango again. I will say the restaurant next door, Christina's, was excellent!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goosealina, Manager at Best Western Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for submitting your detailed review. We value your input and take each guest comment very seriously. We are glad that our staff took care of finding a more suitable room for your needs. Our suites truly allow for more "living" space where our standard rooms are designed for the traveler who will not be spending a whole lot of time in their guestroom. We regret you found our accommodations pricey. Indeed, we would agree, the seasonal nature of Durango can dictate expensive lodging accommodations at certain times but hope that you found value in our service and concern for guest comfort . We sincerely hope you will choose to join us again in the future. Again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.7 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
452 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 33 in Durango
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Durango Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Durango Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
Address: 21382 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301-6857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#13 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Durango Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Durango Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durango Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango Inn And Suites
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing