We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
portland, or
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Nice place to stay. Was within walking distance to town where I had the best steak ever at the ORE house. A little pricey but Durango is a college and tourist attraction town so you have to pay the rates during high season. Overall good room with nice breakfast. Would stay again. Staff very friendly

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonafiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toriGolden, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback. We appreciate your valuable time in submitting input. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    211
    102
    27
    22
See reviews for
221
192
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The rooms were clean and the layout of the room was nice. The breakfast and supporting staff (including Debbie) were great! They were friendly and made sure the guests having breakfast were taken care of. The location ended up being perfect for the things we had planned. We liked the large outdoor hot tub overlooking the outdoor scenery. The laundry room was a nice convenience as we got towards the end of our stay. It would have been nice to have a larger bathroom area but everything worked well so no issue. We ate at the next door restaurant and weren't impressed with the food or the prices.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toriGolden, Manager at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
We so much appreciate your valuable feedback and are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We have put alot of effort and thought into our breakfast experience and feel lucky to have Debbie on our team. We are glad you were pleased. We apologize you were not impressed with Christina's. They owners value your input as much as we do and we will certainly pass along your feedback so they can work to improve as well. Come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

It was great to have a sitting area and 3 queen beds. The breakfast was more than adequate. Here comes the but... Our AC didn't work in the main room and when I mentioned it at the desk the clerk said " It is 50 degrees at night you shouldn't need it". True but it is 90 during the day. We also had a problem with a random bug and a large spider. The desk response "Really a large spider?". We are troopers and not whiners and were clearly smiling and not asking for a discount or rate reduction. Our comments were just to maybe fix the AC and to advise them that the spider was not our kind of visitor. The clerk could have done a much better job. Just saying.

Room Tip: We liked the extra bed and extra sink and only some rooms had this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CFBau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toriGolden, Owner at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Please accept our apologies. Indeed, your situation sounds as though it was handled poorly. If your air conditioner was not working it needs fixed. PERIOD! However, indeed, when it does get to 50 degrees at night and the air conditioner may be set to, perhaps 65 degrees, the unit cannot take the air from the outside and "warm" it to 65 degrees. The unit will cycle down until and not continue to blow until this differential changes. I am sorry we did not explain this. As for your spider friends, we do employ a regular exterminator as we do have exterior corridors and are located adjacent to a heavily wooded area. We try our best to keep them in their natural environment and apologize they made their way into your accommodations. We will check more thoroughly. Thanks for the terrific feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Recently stayed at this motel with another couple. Their room had a bad odor problem and after it was more thoroughly cleaned there was improvement. Location was good for easy and close access into town. Beds O.K. Pillows too thick and we all ended up with a neck ache. Sink did not drain well nor did tub. The motel responded to requests for cleaning and draining but I'm not sure you should have to ask... If you get a good price (we did not) it may be acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane52261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toriGolden, Owner at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We apologize regarding your room odor and the slow draining sinks. You are absolutely correct. These are things you should not have to ask for. We will look into it further. We thoroughly inspect each room prior to renting to the next guest and will look into the reasons for the oversight. We sincerely hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had never been to Durango before - close - (Mesa Verde); but were unfamiliar with the territory, and we had made some last minute changes to plans, so had to act fast and select a motel. We had to shift plans on what days we would be in Durango, as we had wanted to ride the narrow gauge railroad from Durango to Silverton. After finding where the train station was, we selected the Best Western Durango Inn & Suites as it was near and also on the end of town we would hit first. We had a LONG day of driving, and were so ready for the motel when we got there! The front desk was friendly and helpful, it was a pretty warm evening, and we checked in and got into our room - very clean, nice size, adequate air-conditioning. The beds were really comfortable. The bathroom was a tad small - one had to shift around in order to get the door shut to perch on the toilet! And a small toilet at that! We couldn't get the remote to work on the TV, so had to go back up to the front desk and they brought another one down to the room. We didn't realize that Durango was in BEAR country! There are bear-proof trash cans at the motel, and all around town. We didn't see any, but that was okay with us. We had booked two night, but ended up booking a third, because of it's location to other things we wanted to do, plus it was clean and comfortable. We had breakfast in other locations though after the first day. All in all, the price was decent and the motel room was comfortable, clean and the front desk personnel were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms at the center of the motel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ready-two-go-4it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toriGolden, Owner at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This motel has a good location and we chose it partly because there is a restaurant next door and we were not sure how late we would arrive. In the event we should have gone into Durango to eat, the restaurant was disappointing. As for the motel itself, the room was fine and the service was friendly and helpful. The breakfast room was tiny and the breakfast itself was poor - we had juice and coffee and took a couple of apples for later. Compared with others we stayed in it was overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toriGolden, Owner at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We appreciate your valuable comments. We regret you were disappointed with the adjacent restuarant. We will forward your feedback to the owners of Christina's. They value the input as much as we do. The staff always appreciates being recognized for their efforts in being friendly and helpful. We are lucky to have a team of dedicated service professionals. We were disappointed to hear you found our breakfast poor. We have made many improvements this year and felt we were on the right track. We will keep working on it. Thank you so much for the input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We all loved this hotel! We got a 2 room suite, with 2 queen beds in one room and a fold-out bed in the main living space. The room was quite clean and quiet (we were on the 2nd floor) and we all slept quite well. Our room even had a back balcony and we saw deer one night from the balcony! The breakfast in the morning was the usual fare: cereal, eggs, sausage, waffles, etc, although the 2 days we were there for breakfast we noticed they were not open at the time specified and had people waiting to get in. The lobby staff were all very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again and recommend it to friends!

Room Tip: We always go for top floor rooms so we don't have to listen to the people above us stomping arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goophygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 32 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 430 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
Address: 21382 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301-6857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#13 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durango Inn And Suites
Best Western Durango Hotel Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing