We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel - nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Average hotel - nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

I was on vacation with my wife and three kids and found this hotel at the last minute. We chose it because it was pet friendly and had an outdoor pool. Unfortunately, when we got down to the pool they had closed it down for some reason. They told my kids to go play in the hot tub which was very hot and not inviting when it was 100 degrees outside. The free breakfast was continental with a waffle machine. Pretty average. The room was clean and everything functioned. There was free internet. It claimed to have a playground but this was only an old swingset overgrown with weeds. There is an attached restaurant but I didn't try it - looked too expensive. Nothing is in walking distance, so you have to drive into Durango, although it is not that far. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel, but it was not very memorable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrTom234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toriGolden, Owner at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for your taking your valuable time to submit your input. We take very seriously, our guest comments. We apologize for the inconvenience of the pool closure. We do make every effort to insure that it is open and ready for use during the busy summer season, and regret that very rarely we do need to close it . We close it only with guest safety in mind. We continue to try and improve our guest breakfast experience and were disappointed to see that you only enjoyed the continental items of our breakfast buffet. We will look at the placement of our items to insure that our guests can readliy see the sausage, eggs, yogurt, juice, cereal, waffles, breads, danish, muffin and roll assortments. Great feedback. Indeed, for those who are looking for a a property with a playground, we would not recommend ours! We will be sure to adjust our property amenity information, as the playground area should not be marketed as such. Thanks for your valuable comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    224
    108
    30
    25
See reviews for
237
212
38
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brook Park, Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at 4 hotels while travelling through Colorado. This was my family's least favorite. I liked that they had both a sink in the bathroom and outside the bathroom. The staff is not really friendly. The food left alot to be desired. We paid $160 a night and that was with a teacher's discount. When you turned on the a.c. there was a strange odor and it was very noisy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cruiser1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
504 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We expected more from a Best Western. We had two rooms for three nights. The air conditioner in each room was located in the back of the room and was less than satisfactory for hot days/nights. We were uncomfortable each evening. Our bill for 2 rooms for 3 nights seemed like a lot of money for the quality of the rooms. We had dinner in the motel's restaurant. There was no air conditioning and it was hot -- uncomfortable during the entire meal. The food was not that great. The so called St. Louis style toasted ravioli on the menu was a misrepresentation. Could not eat even half the ravioli. Being from the St. Louis area, we know what toasted ravioli is supposed to be like and this place did not have it. The breakfast was good and the ladies working in the breakfast area were very pleasant and helpful. The location is about 1 mile from the Durango-Silverton Railroad and downtown Durango. We liked the location. This is an older two story motel with outside room access. Parking gets full at night. We had a lower level room and didn't care for the pounding from people walking/running on the upper level walkway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has the air conditioner located in the front versus the rear. If you know what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJH2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.tilllman valley
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

This was a nice hotel. Just outside of downtown and was to far to walk in the heat. Just ask for a room that has the air in the front, ours had it in the back of the room and was boxed in and didn't keep it as cool as we wanted. Overall it was nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kat234-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toriGolden, Owner at BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit the valuable input. Indeed, we have many room configurations to meet every guest need. Next time we have the opportunity to be of service to you, lets put you in a suite. You will love it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
403 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 467 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Nice local hotel; good location, 5-8 minutes to historic downtown. Not close enough to walk. Rooms standard motel rooms, anemic air conditioner, comfortable beds, nice outdoor pool with big fluffy pool towels. The breakfast was a treat. Standard basic food (waffles, cereals, bacon and eggs, toast, muffins), but the breakfast room attendant was a GEM. She must work for the tourist board. Very friendly, comes up and asks about your plans for the day, has great suggestions, and remembers what she told you yesterday. Goes and gets maps and brochures about her suggestions.

Room Tip: all rooms face the parking lot, and they get a lot of motorcycles and trailer trucks. can be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMouseMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Park Colorado
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

After searching for an hour, we decided to stay here. We were very pleased when they gave us a ground floor room with 2 seperate bedrooms with 3 Queen beds total, and a sitting area, fridge & microwave. I couldn't do steps, due to knee surgery, so they gave us this room for the same price as a room with 2 Queens on the second floor. Rooms were very clean, and they keep them very updated. We ate at the restaurant next door, and they had the best potato soup.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom with 3 queens total.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank north014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

My family of four had a very nice stay here. Our two room suite included a balcony that faced the mountain. We saw a fox running through the grass one evening. The rooms were clean, furnishings updated and attractive, beds very comfortable, The front desk and breakfast staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Not in town but so close should not make a difference. Very good restaurant next door although a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.7 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
Address: 21382 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301-6857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#13 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durango Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango Inn And Suites
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing