We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
441 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 466 helpful votes
“Everything you need”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Nice local hotel; good location, 5-8 minutes to historic downtown. Not close enough to walk. Rooms standard motel rooms, anemic air conditioner, comfortable beds, nice outdoor pool with big fluffy pool towels. The breakfast was a treat. Standard basic food (waffles, cereals, bacon and eggs, toast, muffins), but the breakfast room attendant was a GEM. She must work for the tourist board. Very friendly, comes up and asks about your plans for the day, has great suggestions, and remembers what she told you yesterday. Goes and gets maps and brochures about her suggestions.

Room Tip: all rooms face the parking lot, and they get a lot of motorcycles and trailer trucks. can be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMouseMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    237
    111
    30
    26
See reviews for
249
222
39
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Park Colorado
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

After searching for an hour, we decided to stay here. We were very pleased when they gave us a ground floor room with 2 seperate bedrooms with 3 Queen beds total, and a sitting area, fridge & microwave. I couldn't do steps, due to knee surgery, so they gave us this room for the same price as a room with 2 Queens on the second floor. Rooms were very clean, and they keep them very updated. We ate at the restaurant next door, and they had the best potato soup.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom with 3 queens total.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank north014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My family of four had a very nice stay here. Our two room suite included a balcony that faced the mountain. We saw a fox running through the grass one evening. The rooms were clean, furnishings updated and attractive, beds very comfortable, The front desk and breakfast staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Not in town but so close should not make a difference. Very good restaurant next door although a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwards, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for three nights while touring the Durango area. The price was very affordable; the rooms were clean; the beds very comfortable -- not rock hard like some hotel beds; the complementary breakfast had plenty of variety from fresh fruit to cook-your-own waffles to decorate-your-own omelets.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed at the Best Western Durango Inn one night as a travel stop on a vacation. From the outside front the hotel looks nice, and we chose this place because it is pet friendly. Well- sort of pet friendly, one of our two complaints. The pet walk area is behind the hotel, but because of the layout the only way to get behind the hotel is through the pool area or through the breakfast area. The desk clerk first told us to go through the pool area-- but it was padlocked for the winter and obviously had been for months. Then he said to go through the breakfast area-which we did in the evening, but I wouldn't the next morning. Plus the hotel pet policy specifically said no pets in the pool or eating areas. Strange! The back side of the hotel looked pretty battered and old, and worn out furniture was lying around. Our second concern is that this is one of those old hotels with very thin walls. Someone with noisy kids came in to the room above us about midnight and banged aroudn until 1:30 AM. Not very good for sleep. Our worst hotel in a long time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjzman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toriGolden, Owner at Best Western Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Thank you for your input and review. We realize that it can be frustrating when directions are not clear and will work to assure that we provide better training, directions and maps to assist in the comfort and understanding of our pet policy and pet friendly areas. We do have easy access to may fun and appropriate areas for our four legged guests. Indeed, we find this time of year difficult to put our best landscape foot forward. The long winters leave us gray and drab as we prepare for the beauty of spring and summer. We regret that the volite winters require that we stack our outdoor furniture to protect it from the weight of the snow and volitile elements. It is not pleasing to the eye and and will investigate other suitable options. With each passing day and the onset of spring, the gorgeous outdoor area comes alive and provides a wonderful, peaceful and serene area to relax, throw a ball or just catch a ray.
It is no doubt uncomfortable when noise can be heard from other guests. We are hopeful that we are made aware of these annoyances during a guest stay so that we can select perhaps another room type that would be more quiet and suitable. As always, we value so much knowing each and every guests experience so that we can continue to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
252 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

.. I stay quite a few times a year in Durango, and have stayed here before. It has been awhile, but the rates that were offered were better than rates at other hotels that I frequent.

I had an early check-in, which was nice. The front desk staff was very nice and efficient!! I have stayed in the Suites before, but never in the double queens. It was very nice. The bed was comfortable - the decor was nice - the vanity sink area was separate from the tub area, which I like. It was immaculate!!

The beds were very comfortable, and my little dog had her bed.... lol.

The breakfast had a lot to choose from - bagels, English Muffins, waffles, fruits, precooked egg patties w/cheese and salsa on an English Muffin (great), lots of cereals - hot and cold - and jucies, coffee, etc... Yum...

I had a great time - and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KUMtngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toriGolden, Owner at Best Western Durango Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you for taking your valuable time to review and submit comments. We value ALL input and appreciate the opportunity to be of service to you and all our valued guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
313 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

My husband and I were traveling with our two dogs in October. We wanted to explore Durango and do the San Juan Skyway. The price paid for the room was better than what another hotel wanted for a pet friendly room. The check-in staff was very nice and gave us a room on the ground floor as we requested. The hotel is more like a motel. You can tell it is on the older side and the decore has been updated. The room was very clean. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was very small but the vanity is outside the bathroom. The only complaint we had was there was no way to go to the back yard with the dogs from our room. We were told the gate to the backyard was locked because the pool was closed for the winter. We had to go through the lobby to get to the backyard. There are some rooms that have a door to the backyard. Not sure if they were pet rooms. The breakfast was good. The lady at check-out was very nice and gave me directions to a gas station. We tried the restaurant Christina's next door for dinner. The staff was nice and the food was good. We loved the salad bar. It was nice to just walk to dinner after driving the San Juan Skyway.

Room Tip: You can walk to a restaurant next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
0.7 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
453 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.7 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 33 in Durango
1,021 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Durango Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Durango Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
Address: 21382 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301-6857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#13 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Durango Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Durango Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durango Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango Inn And Suites
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing