We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not on the main street, but worth the journey.”

Mutu's Italian Kitchen
Ranked #25 of 196 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
East Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Not on the main street, but worth the journey.”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Found this one whilst wandering round Durango looking at the architecture. A warm welcome. Seated quickly and restaurant choices explained clearly. Good choice of food. Salads fresh and with a good choice of dressings. Main courses delicious and obviously freshly cooked. This was our last night in Durango, otherwise we would have come here again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank OldieEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    109
    35
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, NV
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“So So Food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Six of us had dinner at Mutu's last Friday evening... this restaurant had been referred to us by our hotel. We were all looking forward to a great Italian feast after a long ride that day. We had a reservation for 7:30 and we arrived on time and were seated promptly. The restaurant has a lovely air to it and the staff is friendly.

Then we ordered... everyone wanted the Calamari for an appetizer... when it arrived it looked pasty and then tasted undercooked. We all sent it back to have them finish cooking it... when it was returned to us... it looked better... but still tasted like flower without much flavoring. And it went downhill from there. We all felt the food was bland and agreed we would not eat there again... hope they read this and work on their food flavor since the staff, ambiance and service were very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeckyBAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“worst dinner we've ever had”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

this was the worst dinner my husband & I have ever had. We told the owner about the awful food just to let her know that the dinners wee unacceptable & she was soooo defensive. . .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slc
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This restaurant was one block off Main st. We sat outside, the weather was great. The staff was very good, food was excellent. This restaurant knows about detail. It really looked as if they had thought of everything. Who would have thought to find a restaurant this nice in Durango,Co. Candles, lovely decor, also a bar inside. Get a table outside! Wonderful place. We found this also on Tripadvisor. We use them for everything. If you don't, you're crazy! YOU MUST NOW !!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico,CA
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best pasta I've had in years”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Mutu's Italian Kitchen is an excellent choice for the pasta connoisseur. My wife and daughter shared the spaghetti with meat sauce and I loved the linguini with butter and herb sauce. The fresh pasta was cooked perfectly. The restaurant owner is the chef and he takes great pride in his food. I would go back to this place over and over if I lived anywhere close to Durango, CO. During their happy hour they offer 1/2 off appetizers if you sit outside or in the bar area. Menu prices were reasonable for this tourist town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChicoRanMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mutu's Italian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Mutu's Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing