We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining experience, yet still comforable.”
Review of 6512 Restaurant and Lounge - CLOSED

6512 Restaurant and Lounge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "BEST MEAL IN DURANGO AND AT A REASONABLE PRICE." Fun, Upscale-Casual, Entertainment Venue, Featuring Premium Cocktails and Delicious, Local Cuisine
Gallup, New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fine dining experience, yet still comforable.”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Service was amazing. The kids loved the fish tank with Nemo and Dori. Food was great. It provided us with a fine dining experience and we were made comfortable and treated well. Sometimes fine restaurants make you fell less comfortable when traveling with small children. This was most certainly not the case at Randy's!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    46
    24
    15
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ho hum food supposed to be upscale but not a do over for us.”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Was expecting a five star quality place based on menu and price. Sadly disappointed on my Prime Rib quality of meat served. Not seared properly nor seasoned. Sides disappointing since it said medley of vegetables. I don't call five hunks of steamed broccoli and a huge, huge hunk of yellow quash pierced by fork and tasted cooked in a microwave a medley of locally cooked veges. We opted to add the shrimp to our meal. It tasted fishy and old. Bread not warmed and only reason I am giving it three and half stars was staff which were good. Should have known there was a problem based on going on a weekend night and place was empty. Went based on ratings of Trip Advisor which we can usually depend on. Not a do over for us and after planning a last special night in Durango sadly so mediocre.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lmcbooray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant If You Are Undecided”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Randy has been in Durango for many years. His menu is always yummy with good to excellent American choices. If you want plenty to eat dine after 6:00 or dine at 5:00 for a fine selection at reduced prices.

I would recommend the prime rib.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MDWORKIN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Vermont
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Greatest meal of our Four Corners trip.”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were traveling through Durango on our way to Pagosa Springs at the end of over two weeks traveling the Four Corners. We asked some local folks if Randy's was a good place to eat and we got a good recommendation. What a great choice for dinner - great atmosphere, service, and superb meal from the early bird menu. Our favorite restaurant for our entire trip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BandBVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Menu and Good Service”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had never tried Randy's before, even though I work in Durango several times a year. With so many great restaurants to go back to, it's hard to venture out to a new one. This cold Monday night, we decided to go to Randy's and we weren't disappointed.
The decor is dark and intimate and we had a nice table by the window. Our server was Joshua and he was nice and very knowledgable about the menu.
My wife had the mahi mahi which was pan seared and sesame encrusted. It was served in a wonderful large bowl over a bed of ginger soba noodles. She described it as being the best mahi she had ever eaten.
I had the tenderloin filet which was served with coffee bacon over a bed of blue cheese macaroni. It was perfectly cooked and delicious.
The service was great. Combine that with great food and you have a wonderful experience that I would recommend.
Make sure you check out the daily coupons on the internet.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dralbertfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 6512 Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing