We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (495)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveler rating
413
56
15
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
413
56
15
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cookies movie posters the secret garden aveda products hot dish western movie granola in town breakfast was delicious fresh fruit charming hotel the main drag the location is perfect every afternoon place to stay favorite hotel rooms are spacious
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 495 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2019

The Rochester is definitely a place to stay in Durango if you’re tired of the same old chain hotels. The owner (Kirk) is often on-site and will chat up the guests along with his wife. The staff is efficient and super-friendly. Our room was on the ground floor next to the breakfast / bar area, and it was still pretty quiet. The rooms are tied to movies that were filmed in the region - ours was for the potboiler western “Maverick Queen” with Barbara Stanwyck and Barry Sullivan, along with a cast of other lesser-known actors.

If you’re taking the Durango-Silverton train, you’re about a three-block walk away from the station; there are a lot of good restaurants within walking distance as well.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MovableBeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komick, Owner at The Rochester Hotel and Leland House, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2019

Thank you for staying with us at the Leland House and Rochester Hotel. We appreciate it! And thank you for your kind words. We enjoy meeting our guests and look forward to your return visit to Durango. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance in Durango.
Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2019

This is an amazing property! Like stepping back in time with all of the modern conveniences. It is beautiful and the people that work there are wonderful!They are located on the best block. One block off Main Street so it isn't busy and noisy but it is within walking distance to everything! AND the afternoon snacks and breakfast were delicious!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonis332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komick, Manager at The Rochester Hotel and Leland House, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2019

Thank you for staying with us at the Leland House and Rochester Hotel. We appreciate it!
And we appreciate your kind words. We do love being slightly off the beaten path, walking distance to shops, restaurants, and activities of downtown Durango.
Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance in the future.
Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2019

My husband and I, along with our dog stayed at the Rochester Inn in a pet friendly room and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The room was very nicely appointed and it was right off the outside patio/garden area which was perfect for our dog. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was not your typical starch buffet, they actually have a daily menu special that the cook to order. Tea and homemade cookies were a great touch. We really liked hanging out in the courtyard and the dining/bar area. The location can't be beat, right on the grid, and it was very quiet. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. We have been visiting our kids in Durango for years and wish we would have tried the Rochester/Leland Inn sooner.

Room tip: Pet friendly room was great and right next to the courtyard.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komick, Manager at The Rochester Hotel and Leland House, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2019

Thank you for staying with us at the Leland House and Rochester Hotel. We appreciate it!
And thank you for your kind words. We love being able to help parents of Fort Lewis College students. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance from Durango.
We look forward to seeing you on your return visits.
Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019

We stayed at the Leland house. It was clean and very comfortable. The shower pressure was amazing. I loved that they did not have small bottles of bathroom toiletries but instead used a wall mounted dispenser in the shower and a glass bottle of lotion. We are vegan and the ladies worked about our diet restrictions at breakfast. The coffee was delicious. I mentioned that it was our anniversary when making the reservation, when we arrived at our suite we had a nice note and chocolate bars sitting on the bed, very nice thoughtful touch. We will stay again.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komick, Manager at The Rochester Hotel and Leland House, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2019

Thank you for staying with us at the Leland House and Rochester Hotel. We appreciate it!
And thank you for your kind words. I will pass along to all of our innkeepers.
Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance from Durango.
Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019

I travel to Durango a couple of times per year, and always stay at the Rochester Hotel and Leland House. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and tasteful. And, they provide my dog with her own bed, bowls, and dog towels.

I also feel good about staying in a place with such an obvious commitment to the environment. By my calculations, the bulk shampoo and conditioner dispensers in the showers divert over 14,000 single-use plastic bottles from the waste stream each year. Go Rochester!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tehri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komick, Manager at The Rochester Hotel and Leland House, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2019

Thank you for staying with us at the Leland House and Rochester Hotel. We appreciate it!
And thank you for your kind words. I will share with all of our innkeepers.
Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance from Durango.
Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews