We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Rochester Hotel and Leland House
Nearby Hotels
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites(Durango)(Great Value!)
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$215
$199
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
$171
$153
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$248
$230
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strater Hotel(Durango)
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Mountain Shadows(Durango)(Great Value!)
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (406)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveler rating
334
51
12
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
51
12
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiesmovie postersthe secret gardenaveda productsfree bikeswestern moviein towngranolablock from main streetquiet streetsister propertylove stayingfresh fruitlots of historysmall hotelcharming hotelbreakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 407 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The Rochester is the place to stay in downtown Durango. A classic hotel and each room has its own western theme. Also the Rochester has a cool history as the Hollywood of the West. The breakfast which is included with the stay is out of this world. Made with all fresh ingredients and served by a friendly staff. Easy walking distance to downtown restaurants and shopping. A five star stay all the way around.

Room Tip: Easy choice here, they are all great !
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueMoonhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komick, Owner at The Rochester Hotel and Leland House, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for your review on Trip Adviser and for your kind words. We appreciate it.
Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance in the future.
Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This cute hotel has staff members that really care about you and help you every time you ask. They go out of their way to accommodate your every need. Breakfast is like Grandma's house. Delicious and fresh as can be. Cannot wait for another "night away" stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hydi9682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komick, Owner at The Rochester Hotel and Leland House, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for your review on Trip Adviser. We appreciate it!
I will share this review with our staff to let them know of your experience.
Please let me know if we can be of assistance at any time in the future from the Leland House and Rochester Hotel.
Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The Rochester is quintessential Durango with the added benefit of modern amenities and flawless service. I live about ten miles outside Durango and was "in town" to see my friend play a night at the Henry Strater Theater, so decided to get a room at the Rochester instead of driving home. It was a great decision. The rooms are "old-style," but the beds are wonderfully updated (i.e. Hilton Heavenly Bed), the bathroom is stocked with Aveda products, and they have every TV channel you could possibly think of. My bag was carried to the room by the owner (Kirk), himself and he gave me a full description of what would be going on in the hotel that night and in the morning. Breakfast was amazing, to say the least. the coffee was wonderful, followed by a homemade breakfast sandwich served to my table. They also had homemade breads, fresh fruit and cereals available, too. I felt like one of the family. My husband and I also spent our anniversary night at the Rochester a couple of Januarys ago and it was great then, too. We always recommend The Rochester to friends and business people visiting Durango. As a side note, Kirk is a huge supporter of community events and is very well-thought-of by us locals - a good thing for out-of-town guests to know.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are probably quieter, especially if you plan to sleep in. I was downstairs and next to the breakfast area, so it got noisy early - not a problem for me as I'm an early riser. However, it was quite handy to the bar in the evening!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komick, Owner at The Rochester Hotel and Leland House, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Terri
Thank you for your kind review on Trip Adviser. I will share your review with our staff and let them know that they are appreciated.
Please let me know if we can ever be of assistance to you in the future. We do love to support our local non-profits and always appreciate being approached for donations and sponsorships.
Hope to see you for some great Durango entertainment soon.
Kirk Komick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband's job took us to Durango for a few days and we had the pleasure of staying at the Rochester Hotel. We have stayed at many bed and breakfasts, and we both commented that the Rochester's attention to detail placed them among our new favorites. From the warm greeting with fresh baked cookies and homemade hot chocolate, to our unique and very clean room, to the staff's interest in helping us find restaurant recommendations for dinner, and the wonderful breakfast. Our room was large and looked out over one of the main streets of downtown Durango. Everything was in walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ejw975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt W, Manager at The Rochester Hotel and Leland House, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

We are incredibly pleased to hear you enjoyed your time here at the Rochester! Thank you for taking a moment to review us, we really appreciate your kind words. And we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We enjoyed 2 nights at the Rochester during the Cowboy Poetry and Music Festival. Our room was huge, with windows that opened onto a courtyard where, to our delight, free entertainment was offered in the late afternoon along with wine and food. Our bathroom was postage stamp size, considering the room's size, but I guess that's just a quirk of updating an old building.

I think the room rate is high for what's provided. Breakfast service was somewhat disorganized and slow to arrive, but the people were very nice and were clearly working very hard in a very tight kitchen. It's hard to ask more than that. Good attitudes go a long way.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt W, Manager at The Rochester Hotel and Leland House, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

You are right, all of our rooms are different sizes due to restoring a historic boarding house. And we are so sorry to hear breakfast was a little disorganized the mornings you stayed with us! However, we are pleased that our staff was able to make you feel welcome and comfortable and that you enjoyed the music in our courtyard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews