We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Rochester Hotel and Leland House
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My wife and I very much enjoyed staying at the Rochester Hotel. It was quiet, comfortable, friendly and terrific for Durango. Walking by the Strater on a Saturday night, boy was I glad we were in the quiet Rochester. Great breakfast as part of the deal and the outside patio was a lovely place to hang out. Borrow a bike, ask for where to eat... excellent hotel. My only negative comment is that for the price they should have up to date LARGE size televisions and better quality blankets. I was disappointed to find that the blanket was 100% polyester and so not breathable. A touch better blanket and linens should be de rigeur in an expensive hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidw989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt W, Manager at The Rochester Hotel and Leland House, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Leland House and Rochester Hotel. We are constantly upgrading our rooms so your feedback is welcomed with open arms. We hoped you enjoyed the rest of your vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 344 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I decided to stay at the Leland House for my Birthday in May and we had never been to Durango before. We had the cutest room and adored the historic appeal. The staff was delightful and super helpful. They accommodated my request for a gluten free breakfast, for free, and we got a free glass of champagne when we arrived! We were able to walk to nearby restaurants, bars, shops. The hotel also have a lovely gazebo, lawn area we hung out in too. We love the stay and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt W, Manager at The Rochester Hotel and Leland House, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

It thrills us to know you had such a wonderful birthday while staying with us in Durango! Thank you for your kind words. If you ever see yourself back in this part of the world please stop by. (The courtyard is quite beautiful in the fall too!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Recently had a great four night stay at the great Rochester (Leland House). Service was super friendly, rooms very clean and comfortable. The bed was also comfortable. The breakfasts provided a choice between hot or cold or both. It was just an excellent establishment. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt W, Manager at The Rochester Hotel and Leland House, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your time in Durango and your stay with us! Thank you for you kind words and we hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent two nights at the Rochester Hotel in downtown Durango, Colorado. It is a lovely, well-restored/modernized historic hotel in the middle of downtown Durango. The staff was delightful. The location puts you within walking distance of the many shops, restaurants, galleries, etc., in downtown Durango. And the tea and cookies served complimentary every afternoon are delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walt f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komick, Manager at The Rochester Hotel and Leland House, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your visit to Durango and to the Leland House and Rochester Hotel. We appreciate your visit and your kind words. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance in the future.
Kirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Love everything about the Leland House and Rochester Hotel. The rooms are so comfortable, breakfast is amazingly delicious, and the staff is super helpful and friendly. Had a blast listening to the band in the garden while drinking a glass of wine from their bar. Then took the beach cruisers down along the river. I will stay here every time for both business trip and pleasure.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrea k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komick, Owner at The Rochester Hotel and Leland House, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for your visit and for your kind words. We hope to see you back in Durango soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I've stayed at the Rochester Hotel more times than I can count. I loved the comfortable, warm and friendly feel of the place. Breakfast here is spectacular and the morning staff couldn't be more gracious and lovely. I always loved the welcome I received from them. However, in the last year the Rochester has decided to incorporate a bar and new manager who doesn't have the same hospitality model. It's changed the feel completely. I used to recommend the Rochester to all of my friends traveling to Durango. But it is with reservation now. The location is great, but I'm not sure I'll return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reet1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt W, Manager at The Rochester Hotel and Leland House, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

We always appreciate guest feedback, especially concerning our bar. Our drive behind certain updates to the property were done to create a more pleasing guest experience and I am terribly sorry the new additions added were not satisfactory for you. It is very important to us to know how our changes affect our regular guests and we certainly do not want to lose you. Rest assured the mission statement of the hotel, to provide guests with warm, friendly, efficient service is our utmost priority. I would be more than happy to discuss your experience with the bar and management (would this be bar management, front desk management, general management?) if you would like to contact me directly at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on an overnight unfortunately passing through. It was a multi-leg business trip through the central states. Arriving I did not know what to expect, but was quickly impressed. While not opulent, for me it was the perfect fit.

Owners obviously take a sincere interest in making the Rochester a comfortable and intensely welcoming environment, from the exceptional, kind service and cozy rooms to the amenities and atmosphere. The staff are great and I felt like a dear friend who had finally returned after too many years away for a visit that would be all too heartbreakingly brief.

My highest compliments and recommendation. And whatever they are serving for breakfast - try it all! You will not be sorry...

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golliwobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt W, Manager at The Rochester Hotel and Leland House, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

It thrills me to hear you had such a satisfactory experience! The fact that you felt like family during your stay means we are all (owners, management, front desk, bar, kitchen and housekeeping) doing our job well. We certainly look forward to seeing you again and hopefully for a longer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#12 of 34 in Durango
503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 34 in Durango
1,103 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
2.4 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 34 in Durango
293 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rochester Hotel and Leland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rochester Hotel and Leland House

Address: 726 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Price Range: $150 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rochester Hotel and Leland House 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rochester Hotel & Bar is a historic hotel open since 1892. The hotel provides 15 rooms with private bathrooms all themed in an Old Western Hollywood style. Each of the 12 rooms in the Leland House are named after a historic Durango figure and the interior décor is accented with local memorabilia, biographies, and photos of these important figures. Come relax at the Rochester Bar or Secret Garden, providing an intimate setting for fine wines and cocktails. A full gourmet breakfast is included and cruiser bicycles are available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Rochester Hotel and Leland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochester Hotel And Bar
Rochester Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing