We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Farmington, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful time”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We decided to take a quick trip to Durango for the 4th and the remainder of the week. Almost everywhere was sold out. We tried the Rochester. The room rates were higher than at the national chain where we usually stay, but we figured we'd give it a try. The room was good, but the overall experience was terrific. Most of the people who work there are long time employees who obviously love what they do. They bent over backwards for us. The breakfasts (including the wonderful, locally roasted coffee) are something to look forward to. The afternoon cookies are so good. Every day that we stayed, there was an activity to enjoy (2 concerts in the lovely courtyard and an art walk show). The location is perfect. We walked to the restaurants we frequent; no jockeying for a parking spot. The experience was so much fun; we'll be back (sorry national chain).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali2relax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    47
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
59
119
9
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We reserved our room online about a month ago and even received an email confirmation. Upon arrival, we were told our room was no longer available. We had to take what was available, which was a downgrade and we were only offered a $10/night discount. The hotel itself is in a great location, but not worth the price. With all the hassel of reservations and check in, I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purplesummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Leland House and Rochester Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
We are sorry there was confusion at check-in, we would be happy to discuss this matter further with the guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

There was a Spyder motorcycle convention of some kind going on in town, so we got one of the last rooms in town (so we were told). We stayed in the B&B part of the hotel, a separate building called the Leland House, across the street.

It was a two bedroom suite with a full kitchen and two seating areas and a balcony overlooking the street. We splurged.

There were several a/c's in the B&B, and we found out early that we could not run them all and turn on a hair dryer. It popped a circuit breaker which the front desk had to come over and reset. The box was behind one of the pictures on the wall and we could have reset it ourselves had we known.

The location was perfect and a band was playing blue grass across the street at the hotel, so we just sat on the balcony and enjoyed. Then we easily walked through the town to enjoy the atmosphere.

Breakfast the next morning was only fair. A mixed scramble and some fruit and pastries. Not what I expected from an expensive B&B.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAMWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Leland House and Rochester Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
We appreciate the guests review and comments. The hotel would like to clarify that they were staying in our largest suite - The Pittman Suite. This is our most expensive room as it is one of the largest hotel suites in downtown Durango. The guests did receive quite a discount as they were day-off walk-ins. Our regular rooms normally range from $169 - $249 during the busy summer months, typical of historic downtown Durango hotels.

The breakfast is completely homemade, all the entrees are made to order. The scones, breads and muffins are made from scratch and change daily. The breakfast also includes homemade granola, fresh cut fruit and locally roasted coffee.

We are glad they enjoyed the live music and hope their overall stay was pleasurable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We did a 2 week road trip through Colorado and this hotel was the most expensive of the 6 hotels we stayed at...even a 4 star in downtown Denver. When we arrived during the afternoon of our first day, there was no parking (very limited spaces) in front of hotel, so my husband pulled into the public lot right next door. I went back in to see where we were supposed to park. The woman at the desk was not overly friendly and said that we should go around the back of the hotel to the parking in the alley. We did and there were even less spaces, which were all taken. Back inside I went and told the woman and she said that we would have to use the public parking and gave us a pass to put in our window. A very nice young man helped us take our luggage inside. Our room was on the ground floor right by the stairs. Generally this wasn't a problem for the 4 nights we stayed there, but they allow children and one night we had a rather rambunctious one running around at almost 11 o'clock. Our room was very clean and spacious with a window air conditioning unit. There seemed to be at least 3 different people at the front desk and numerous different people serving breakfest (which was excellent) on the days that we were there. After a very disappointing dinner at a restaurant on Main Street our first night, I asked yet another new person there at night to recommend a good one. She did and it was good. Most of the people working there were not genuinely friendly, just doing their job, except for Nancy who gave us the restaurant recommendation. She was very helpful and pleasant. You could tell that she enjoyed what she was doing whereas we didn't get that feeling from the other employees. There was a very friendly young girl who had just graduated from high school who served breakfast that made you feel welcome also. On the last night we were there, they had a blue grass concert in the grassy area to the side of the hotel, which was open to the public. They were very good, but a lot of people were there just to talk and socialize and we had a hard time hearing the band. Overall, it was a decent stay, but over priced.

Room Tip: Don't get one by the stairs and the dining area where they serve breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaWineaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Leland House and Rochester Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
The summertime in Durango is the busiest time of year for the downtown area. This being said, the Rochester offers room rates that are comparative to other downtown hotels. The rates are lower during our off-season, November - April.

We are sorry the guest did not feel welcomed by our staff, we have printed this review and gone over it with all staff members.

The parking situation can be a little confusing and we try our best to show guests where the parking is when we escort them to their rooms upon check-in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrose, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

The rooms at the Rochester are very good sized. The employees are as nice as could be. The breakfasts are yummy! The only down side that I could see is the lack of air conditioning. Also the pillows in our room were pretty flat.

Room Tip: The downgrade on the room was based on pillows and no air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochesterstaff, Manager at The Leland House and Rochester Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, Just wanted readers to know that we do have air conditioning in the summer months, the units were put in this last week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, CO
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The Rochester Hotel provides an authentic Western experience. The friendly staff, the flowers in the courtyard, and the home-cooked breakfast, make this my favorite hotel in Durango. It's listed as a B&B, but feels more like a hotel. The staff will bend over backwards to make sure you are comfortable.

A few of the rooms allow dogs, and when we were shown to our room by the registration clerk and found 2 little doggie beds in the corner, we were overwhelmed. The pups were excited too!

This hotel is located within walking distance of most anything in town, but they provide you with these really cool retro bikes to cruise town on, if you would rather.

It is a little expensive, but you'll find all the rooms in Durango are a bit pricey, especially during the peak seasons. We stay at the Rochester every year during the Wine Tasting Experience in early May. The courtyard at the Rochester is one of the main venues for the event, with reps from many Cali vineyards pouring. We love it!

Room Tip: Get a room that opens to the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elkmantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komick, Manager at The Leland House and Rochester Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for your visit to the Leland House and Rochester Hotel and for your kind words. We appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you next year for the Wine Experience, if not sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

When I saw a Living Social Escape to Durango, I jumped on it, never having stayed at the Rochester before. I typically stay in one of Silverton's B&Bs or make a one night stay in some of the more well-known (but also more expensive) historical hotels in Durango. When I read about the Rochester's western theme here on TripAdvisor, I knew it would be appealing and persuasive for my husband. I am so thankful that we booked and I would do it again in a heartbeat!

Pulling into town, the Rochester was easy to locate on 2nd Avenue, and it was just steps away from the heart of downtown Durango near the train station. There was parking in front, a public lot to the side, and dedicated spaces in the alley, which provided easy access into the rear opening of the hotel. My husband was able to park our larger truck (20+ feet) in the alley without issue.

Registration was effortless and prompt. We were escorted up to our king room which was spacious and accommodating, much to my husband's surprise and pleasure. We were right at the top of the stairs and didn't have any issues with noise whatsoever. My husband and I were surprised to read this complaint from one of the reviewers below. Our room was tastefully decorated with antiques that fit the theme (we were in the "Butch Cassidy Room") and luxurious modern amenities. A note on our pillow included the rest of our Living Social vouchers (for drinks, a bottle of wine, a gift card to dinner at the local Irish pub, and a handmade chocolate bar), to use at our convenience. The bed was absolutely wonderful - my husband said neither of us moved that first night! We slept fabulously both nights, and loved sleeping in one of those mornings. There was no formal closet in the room, but we had a closet bar/shelf near the bathroom that met our needs, as well as two luggage racks.

The room has a private bath, which was tastefully done as to not conflict with the age or decor of the hotel, but provide you with the comforts and luxuries of an upscale lodging experience. The toiletries included homemade glycerin soaps (for the sink and bath), Aveda Rosemary Mint Shampoo and Conditioner (my absolute favorite) in travel-sized bottles as well as in a shower dispenser, and an energizing Aveda body wash in the dispenser as well. The shower was a full-sized walk-in, with two built-in ledges - fantastic if having a bathtub isn't a need/desire of yours. We're both tall (5'11" and 6'0") and the height of the shower head was perfect for us, with room to spare. We noticed how much hotter the water is in comparison to ours back home (on the other side of Colorado), and it was wonderful! The water pressure was sufficient, although the water's temperature is slightly affected by the use of others, not atypical of a building of this age. Overall, no complaints in this area. The vanity had one sink, but plenty of room for my husband and I to get ready at the same time.

The breakfasts were out of this world! Fresh, homemade, simple ingredients, but wonderful flavors! There were fresh fruits and homemade pastries (scones, mini-muffins, breads), yogurt, homemade granola, and cereal available for snacking while you waited for the hot meal. My husband is a hearty, traditional breakfast fan, which I'm more of the foodie, and we both loved our meals. The staff was very accommodating on our second morning, when my husband wasn't feeling well. They called up to our room when his breakfast was ready and gave me a tray to carry his items up to the room, so he could enjoy them in bed.

Did I mention the homemade cookies, three varieties, that are set out for guests in cookie jars every day? Don't miss them - the double chocolate was my favorite and my husband was pressing me to get the oatmeal recipe. The Rochester recently put a bar, which allows them to entertain on Gallery Walk nights, as well as serve customers. After a long day of driving, we were thankful to take them up on this offer, and we were able to take our drinks up to the room as well.

Overall, our stay at the Rochester was absolutely wonderful! We parked our vehicle upon arrival and never had to use it again, until we departed. We walked everywhere, thanks to the location downtown, and if we needed transportation, we could've used one of the many cruiser bicycles that the hotel has available for guests' use. We walked to the train station, to numerous restaurants, to the local country bar, etc. We definitely intend to visit again and stay at the Rochester, and we were already thinking of relatives and friends who'd love the recommendation. If I see another Living Social or Groupon for this property, I'll be snatching it up without hesitation!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
1,037 reviews
0.1 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#6 of 33 in Durango
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
2.4 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
222 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leland House and Rochester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leland House and Rochester Hotel

Property: The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
Address: 726 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leland House and Rochester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rochester Hotel & Bar is a historic hotel open since 1892. The hotel provides 15 rooms with private bathrooms all themed in an Old Western Hollywood style. New in 2012 is the addition of the Rochester Bar, providing an intimate setting for fine wines and cocktails. A full gourmet breakfast is included and cruiser bicycles are available for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Leland House and Rochester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochester Hotel And Bar
Rochester Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing