We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely Inn and Garden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Orchard Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apple Orchard Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   7758 County Road 203, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Durango B&B and Inns
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Inn and Garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The Apple Orchard Inn in Durango, CO was the perfect place for our weekend getaway. The rooms were quiet, clean and comfortable. The food was fantastic, and we really enjoyed walking around the beautiful gardens. We even got to see a bear lumber up a tree when we arrived one evening! We will be sure to stay there again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    18
    14
    7
    6
See reviews for
20
141
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
177 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

You will truly enjoy staying at the Inn., the service is superb., food is very good., breakfast filling with coffee, orange juice, and full county faire. The rooms are quiet., beds are very comfortable, room with the fireplace was wonderful. Very, very quiet, Kathy our hostess was very gracious and helpful., The only thing that I would suggest is that the Inn, include a corner for a Keruig Coffee Maker., with selections of coffee, tea's etc., that would be a great addition to the living room area, especially after a long day of site seeing., and shopping. A place to relax with a cup of coffee, possibly a biscuit. Enjoy!!!! bye!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Inn., the room with the fireplace, wonderful, romantic.~~~~
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Apple Orchard Inn in Durango is approximately 5 miles north of town and well worth the trip. It's bucolic setting complete with brook and orchard and pond and trees is quiet and restful--the bear cub perched high in a pine tree being an added feature at no extra charge. Ample parking. The rooms/bathrooms are clean and well appointed. The innkeeper Kathi makes a hearty and homemade (no packaged ready-to-eat crap) breakfast and coffee is available 24/7. Almost contiguous is the country club that features a good lunch or dinner and is obviously open to the public. Scenic area. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhoenixJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Homey and comfortable. Great beds, enchanting garden and tasty home cooked breakfasts. Cathy is full of good suggestions. The Inn while about 10 minutes out of Durango is close to the Hot Springs. There is even an occasional bear for atmosphere.

Room Tip: The cabins are really nice but more expensive. The rooms in the house are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msdic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed in the Red Baron cabin at Apple Orchard Inn and thought it was absolutely wonderful! The grounds are beautiful and the views of the mountains outside of Durango are terrific! Kathi is a lovely host who is very welcoming and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed happy hour (wine and cookies) and meeting other guests. Breakfast is yummy. We've stayed in other places in town and will definitely come back to the Apple Orchard Inn!! Just a lovely place. (btw, who cares if the tv is small and dated...we didn't go to Durango to watch tv...)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reet1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The grounds here are very pretty, very well maintained. But our cabin needed some updating. We stayed in the Red Baron and though we were told that the bed was a queen, we're pretty sure it was full. There was a very old TV there and old décor. However, it was all very clean and we enjoyed the toiletries that were provided. Breakfast was excellent and Kathie made sure that we were well taken care of. We just think that for the money spent there should be serious updating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Apple orchard inn has 5-6 cottages sitting at the base of high mountains, it has a neat/beautiful court yard with water running through. We stayed here in April for 2-3 nights, owner Kathi was warm and friendly. We have a dog and she was accommodating re providing towels and options to rinse her off. The cottage itself has older decor inside, but clean. We loved it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruojiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
11.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
9.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
9.8 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#4 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 32 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
11.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#2 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Orchard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Orchard Inn

Property: Apple Orchard Inn
Address: 7758 County Road 203, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Orchard Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located north of Durango and south of Durango Mountain Resort in the Animas Valley makes this AAA Four-Diamond luxury bed & breakfast a perfect home base for exploring Southwest Colorado. A main house with four guest rooms and six private cottages, all surrounded by lush gardens, ponds and beautiful mountain views. Enjoy excellent breakfasts each morning and a happy hour each evening with Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies and other snacks. AAA Four-Diamond since 2003 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Apple Orchard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Orchard Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing