We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well Worth the Drive to the Apple Orchard” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apple Orchard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apple Orchard Inn
Ranked #7 of 12 Durango B&B and Inns
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
245 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Drive to the Apple Orchard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

A 2-night stay here was great and wished we could have stayed longer on our trip Durango. We stayed in the Rome Beauty room and it was great - large room, wonderful bed, large stone fireplace, several windows, ceiling fan and huge bathroom.

We were able to see the other 3 rooms in the main house as they weren't busy when we stayed, and they all looked equally great. They are on the top floor so no noise from above! The cottages looked quite nice. The main house is more modern than the Country Sunshine, if you are comparison shopping.

Kathi is a great cook and her breakfasts were divine. Afternoon happy hour consisted of local beers, cookies, and wine (from a box, not great).

One tip: the B&B does get some traffic noise from 550, despite being set well back from the road. If you keep your windows open at night, you might be bothered by this in the mornings or late afternoons. Traffic does die down at night.

There is a gourmet market - PJs, a short drive away, for picnic supplies, desserts, drinks, etc - highly recommended.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelreviewer333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    22
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
20
153
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

My husband and I needed a quick getaway from Farmington. We stayed in the Wolf River cottage, which had its own hot tub. It also has a gas log fireplace, coffee maker, and small fridge. There is also a small tv, but who needs that on a romantic getaway. The views were amazing, and the cottage was lovely and clean. The bed was very comfortable. We were so relaxed that we never made it to breakfast (maybe next time). Kathi was very nice. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I recommend the Wolf River cottage because it has its own hot tub, but there is a communal hot tub o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dharmabumk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Beside the cleaning guy opening the door to our cabin WHILE we were in bed (thank god for the blanket) then asking as the door is open "do you need anything??", the ball of hair floating on the bathroom floor (not ours it was black in color), the coffee pot in the room being broke (had to use a spoon to get it to drain) and the bed not comfortable it was WAY to soft with a feather top thing on it, the place has a nice location and good breakfast. Beware the cotteges are NOT close to the parking area so if you have lots of stuff to take you well be making several trips...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

Took my wife here for her bday getaway in June 2011. Don't know where to start. The gardens and exteriors, are amazing. Well kept property with a great view of the mountains. The house IMMACULATE. We are neet freaks and the place was spotless. We stayed at the Rome room: fireplace and whirlpool tub, king size bed. Hostess owner nice and welcoming. Have I mentioned the place was spotless? breakfast was hardy and filing. It was an array of fruits pastries, eggs coffe and juice. A very romantic setting at night with the garden night lights. Great for a romantic weekend. A little pricey, but worth every single penny you spend. Lookin forward to a future stay. Would absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Webboman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Lovely B & B with six cottages plus rooms in main house. We were in a cottage and it was very private and comfortable. The grounds are beautiful, breakfast great, and the owner, Kathy, was most enjoyable. One of the nicest B & Bs we've stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Excellent service, through and through. The breakfasts were incredibly generous and delicious. The best I've ever had at a B & B. Rooms were fantastic and spotless. The property is gorgeous and the entire area was amazing. I really would like to return! There is a hot spring facility just down the road and it was a wonderful touch.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brasskitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Valley, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

Stayed at the Apple Orchard. The room was great. Very good breakfast. Kathy was excellent hostess. Grounds are perfect for relaxation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tennispete72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
9.9 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
9.8 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#4 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#8 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
8.0 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
9.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Orchard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Orchard Inn

Property: Apple Orchard Inn
Address: 7758 County Road 203, Durango, CO 81301-3797
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Orchard Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located north of Durango and south of Durango Mountain Resort in the Animas Valley makes this AAA Four-Diamond luxury bed & breakfast a perfect home base for exploring Southwest Colorado. A main house with four guest rooms and six private cottages, all surrounded by lush gardens, ponds and beautiful mountain views. Enjoy excellent breakfasts each morning and a happy hour each evening with Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies and other snacks. AAA Four-Diamond since 2003 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Apple Orchard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Orchard Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing