We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“... and add a Mojito to that order!!!”
Review of East by Southwest

East by Southwest
Reserve with OpenTable
East by Southwest is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 198 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: East College and 2nd Ave.
Description: A taste of the Far East in the heart of the Southwest. We create vibrant fusion cuisine rooted in the flavors of Japan & the Pacific Rim. We are proud to serve all organic meats & poultry, such as American Kobe, Kurobuta Pork, & Natural Black Angus Beef. At our sushi bar enjoy cutting edge sushi & sashimi made from the best quality seafood & fresh line caught fish from Hawaiian waters. Our menu offers many tantalizing small dishes. We encourage you to order a variety of them and share amongst your table.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Really fine selection of rolls, plates etc. Your taste buds will delight, and their mojitos go well with everything.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank regular81301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
There are newer reviews for East by Southwest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 153 of 320 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2014

If you're looking for a delicious meal, a fun and exciting environment, and great service, you must visit East by Southwest! Best sushi restaurant around!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Niki_Wineholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had both dinner and lunch at this fine restaurant in May. The dinner was OUTSTANDING from beginning to end with fresh fish treated in very capable hands. The presentations were beautiful, the food inventive without overwhelming delicate flavors, and the service was excellent. We were told that this was a "fresh fish night" and I can highly recommend dining on Tuesdays and Fridays given this experience.

Lunch was on a Saturday, and while OK wasn't anywhere near the level of special dining on fresh fish days. The meal was a bargain; essentially 3 courses for something around $12. The food was good just not stellar. I would definitely recommend this for seafood in Durango, quickly noting that other entrees are also available.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Foodandfrolic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The cost for average quality sushi is incredibly disproportionate. Service is also poor at best; your waiter might not warn you before your order that your coupons cannot be used and you will be stuck paying full price for food that isn't worth it. The restaurant is crowded, the wait staff in attentive, and beware bathrooms without closed stalls.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank futurecm21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hydi9682, General Manager at East by Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear sir , thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I would like to address a couple of your concerns. All the discount and offer coupons we distribute have the following disclaimer "Please present coupon to your server before ordering" This is so that the server knows you have a coupon and the proper discount can be applied before the check is tendered. Other wise the server has no way of knowing you have a discount coupon . Regarding the men's room stall, this is the only ADA bathroom in the building, we could not accommodate a door due to space restrictions , the toilet stall space has to allow a wheel chair to make a 360 degree circle, nevertheless the bathroom door has a lock for privacy while using the facility. As far as food quality is concerned, I am at a loss as to what happened in your case. We strive to serve the best quality product available and take pride in the quality of our food. We receive numerous compliments in this regard. Service wise , we are working through some issues and I humbly apologize for any shortcoming you experienced. We are diligently working to improve our level of service. Thank again for your review and your patronage...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Finding a restaurant in a small town in the South West that masters one Asian cuisine should be difficult enough… This restaurant has an excellent selections of dishes from Japanese, Thai and Vietnamese food with a few fusion style twists. Service was also very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GodfreydeZilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East by Southwest also viewed

 

Been to East by Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing