We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NY NY roll was really good... Service was below average.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East by Southwest

East by Southwest
Reserve with OpenTable
East by Southwest is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 183 Restaurants in Durango
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: East College and 2nd Ave.
Description: A taste of the Far East in the heart of the Southwest. We create vibrant fusion cuisine rooted in the flavors of Japan & the Pacific Rim. We are proud to serve all organic meats & poultry, such as American Kobe, Kurobuta Pork, & Natural Black Angus Beef. At our sushi bar enjoy cutting edge sushi & sashimi made from the best quality seafood & fresh line caught fish from Hawaiian waters. Our menu offers many tantalizing small dishes. We encourage you to order a variety of them and share amongst your table.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“NY NY roll was really good... Service was below average.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I get to go here about twice a year. It's very expensive but the food is usually great quality. I had a NY NY roll that was excellent and a Thai spicy roll that was good quality, just not my favorite taste. Service was below average although friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    67
    30
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Overpriced, small portions, and poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

On 08-15-13 my wife and I went here to celebrate and occassion. This was our second time together at the restaurant. We were seated quickly and the restaurant was busy. Our waitress came to our table and didn't introduce herself, or tell us about any specials. She asked what we wanted to drink and we ordered water, which she seemed annoyed by. Our waitress came back a while later and asked us what we wanted to order without asking if we had any questions about the menu, which we did. We ordered the Duck Spring Rolls (comes with two) to start and it was extremely greasy. We then had to wait a very long time until the waitress came back and took our order again. She served two other tables that came after us and they received their food (and alcoholic drinks) before us. The waitress seemed to be much more attentive to the two other tables near us and would consistently go back to their tables and walk by ours. The waitress was also much more friendly and outgoing to these other two tables. When we did order something off of the menu, she didn't know what I had ordered and asked me to show her on the menu. The waitress said the chefs change the menu all of the time and change the names of dishes. I ordered an entree -- Kobe top sirloin with asparugus and shiitake mushrooms. My wife ordered a salmon skin hand roll and the east by southwest roll. The portion size of my meal was similar to a Tapas style dish, not an entree. it only came withe one small shittake mushroom and three pieces of aspargus (it was $25). After we finished what we had ordered, I was still starving. Our waitress continued to wait on the other tables, continuing to take drink and food orders, while my wife and I sat at the table waiting for her to come back. When she came back, she only asked if we were going to eat dessert or not. I asked for the menu again because I wanted to order more food because I was still hungry. I ended up ordering the Salmon and Lemon roll. The roll had extremely thin sliced salmon and the roll was mostly just rice. Each piece would completely fall apart. The lemon slices were larger then atop of the salmon. At the end of the meal, it totaled to $80 and my wife and I were still hungry and felt like the meal wasn't worth what we were going to pay for the food and service. We will not be going back to East By Southwest.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dunl1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Not really sure why East by Southwest is ranked 27th? Everytime that I've been there the food was great and the service is good. This really is one of my Fav. places to eat at when I'm passing through the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately the service is lacking during our last dinning experience at east by SW. Our food wast brought out at the same time as we had requested and the waitress hurried us and dropped the bill without asking if we would like anything else. Don't dine any time near end of lunch. Drinks were amazing as always!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dgojenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible service, overpriced for what you get”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were the only people at the sushi bar but had to place our order with an incompetent server rather than directly with the suchi chef. It had been a long day of fun for us & our 2 kids (8 & 10), everyone was hungry & the waiter hardly checked on us. Drinks were slow, we finally asked the sushi chef to let us order directly from him, & when it was time to pay, the waiter took our credit card, then stopped by another customer to explain the menu, describe the rolls & take his order. We finally got up & stood by the door, waiting for our receipt & card to be returned. Food was ok, but $14 for only 3 pieces of sashimi is over the top. We will not return.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nan2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East by Southwest also viewed

 

Been to East by Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing