We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Bare Bones” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adobe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Adobe Inn
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bare Bones”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

This motel on Main Avenue is a minimum standard place to sleep and shower. It's old, dated. Outside it looks clean and well maintained. The rooms are shabby, sheets stained, ridiculous A/C unit, and plumbing backs up a bit. No bugs or anything nasty. For $50/night I'd think "well, you get what you pay for." For $80 (discount), it is NOT a good value. But it is the cheapest game in town.

Staff was friendly and polite.

We will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasFlyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    30
    17
    31
See reviews for
21
44
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pflugerville, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel is terrible. Room not only outdated but totally nasty. I could have overlooked if clean, but it was not. The red carpet was horribly stained and gross. There were chips on the floor around the bed and the sheets were questionable. Had we not driven 15 hours and gotten there at 11 pm, and had other option as to place to stay, definitely would not have stayed. Had to try and not think about it. No amenities - no coffee maker in rooms (and office doesn't open til 7:00) no hair dryer, no iron, breakfast advertised from 7 to 10 consists of packaged cinnamon rolls, ice machine empty. Would not stay again. Will pay twice the cost to stay in a decent place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Durango hotels

Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We didn't have terribly high hopes for this hotel because it was the best deal we could find last minute, but we had driven by on other trips to Durango and noted it didn't look too bad. Our experience got off on the wrong foot with the kid at the desk, who my brother said was undoubtedly high. Nice enough kid, but two parties checking in and one person on hold (whom he forgot about so they called back and he put them on hold again, and most likely forgot about again when we walked out) was more than he could handle. Our keys didn't work so had to take them back down to get reprogrammed (or, programmed).

The room was big, clean, and dated to be sure, and the bed was hard. Not that big of a deal I guess when you don't pay much. We didn't bother with the complimentary coffee or cinnamon rolls at breakfast so I can't speak to those.

Also note that there is no shampoo, conditioner, or lotion in the room. My boyfriend had to use my lotion after his shower and smelled like a girl all day.

In summation, a quote from him, "The only good thing about that place was the towels were soft."

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdobeInn, General Manager at Adobe Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
This employee is a very good employee, who had an impacted wisdom tooth removed after lunch, and what you saw was a combination of this and pain medication.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

This place had a funny smell which I never could quite identify. The bathroom door lock did not work. The bed was a bit hard. Do not be deceived by the words on the marquee which said, "Cinn Rolls". I knew it didn't offer breakfast but I was thinking, "A good cinnamon would suffice since they don't serve breakfast." It turned out to be a plastic-wrapped danish-like roll that you would get out of a vending machine. A disappointment! The clerk also locked up the office for an hour at lunch and there was no one to receive hotel guests who might come in at that time. The positive would be the price compared to many of the other Durango hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FabRoadTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Rude owner. Locked out. Owner in office before 7am. Was told that he almost just left me locked out until 7am. Other traveling with us were locked out of the laundry room & had to call for help at 5am. Had to wait for someone to come on property to let them in to get their clothes. Ratty rooms. The only good thing I can say was it was it was quite and had microwave and frig.

Room Tip: There was no restaurant. They advertised cinnamon rolls for breakfast. Well what they had were rolls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

You know those showers that spray needles of water that hurt when they hit your body? These are the showers you can expect here. Also, they are the type of showers where you move the faucet handle a few centimeters towards cold and the shower will be freezing in about 30 seconds, so you adjust back towards hot and then its so hot you have to get out of the way, and try and turn correct where inevitable the process repeats itself. Don't stay here if you need a good warm shower.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zachbrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

After researching TripAdvisor we chose this place as the cheapest in town. The sign advertised a price even $5 less than the best TripAdvisor price. As we checked in, it turned out that is price was only for a three-day stay. Nevertheless, an adequate place for overnight. We were in the downstairs, farthest from the highway room, and it was quite quiet.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
1.3 mi away
Knights Inn Durango CO
Knights Inn Durango CO
#2 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adobe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adobe Inn

Property: Adobe Inn
Address: 2178 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4636
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adobe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See why we were voted "Best Lodging Value in Durango" for the 5th Year! We are located in the heart of downtown Durango, Colorado. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Adobe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adobe Hotel Durango
Adobe Motel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing