We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fine & Dandy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adobe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Adobe Inn
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
193 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Fine & Dandy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Our room was just fine. Queen size bed is okay and the location close enough to anywhere you'd want to go in Durango. Nice to have a refrigerator and microwave in the room. Sheets and towels were clean. One issue: the temperature of the water while showering fluctuated from HOT only to COLD only a few times. Ugh. Otherwise, it's an okay place to stay.

Room Tip: the further you are from the road, the quieter the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    30
    17
    31
See reviews for
21
44
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

The hotel is dated and a little crummy for the price. The room was clean, though! It is also a little farther from downtown, but not too far. There are some places close enough to walk to. I thought the staff was nice. If I was staying for more than one night, I would have stayed somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Racherz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Boy did we need a place to rest and relax. We came to Durango to visit our nephew and godson, see the sights and take a break. Snow and heavy rain were predicted. What a snug little place the Adobe Inn was for us! We had a little kitchen and 2 sofas in the room, so we were able to do a lot of hanging out right there! We spent 2 nights there, sitting out the weather. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. We even did our laundry there before getting back on the road. So reasonably priced and close to everything.

Room Tip: We were in the back which was away from the road and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shoofoolatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Easy to find and convenient location but the breakfast was basic as we're the rooms. We were in a non-smoking room but it smelt like someone had been smoking in it. Plenty of hot water and clean towels ok for a stopover but nothing more

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosepuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The bed is horrible. Old and very very uncomfortable. It's an old motel. Seems reasonable clean. But if you can't sleep what's the point. You have to take trolley downtown. Motel is right on the main busy street. Noisy air conditioner in room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DW54016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Durango hotels

Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Durango is a very expensive place to stay in tourist season, and the Adobe Inn would probably be a $45 a night motel if it wasn't in a resort town. It was okay, though. The worst thing was the shower-the water pressure was so low you had to run laps to get good and wet, and my usual 15 minute shower took 30 by the time I got clean and rinsed. The bathroom needed renovation, and the whole room could've used a thorough cleaning. Nothing disgusting, just dust and grime in the corners, and the back of the bathroom door looked pretty icky. That being said, there were pluses. The front desk clerk was friendly and accommodating. The bed linens were good quality, and were clean and crisp. The bath linens were likewise good quality, fluffy clean, and there were plenty of them. There was a fridge and microwave, but no coffee maker in the room. Breakfast was convenience store type pastries, but they were good and fresh. The decor was retro, (not sure if they meant it to be!) but we thought it was cute. Considering the prices in Durango, if you don't want to pay a fortune for your room, the Adobe Inn will do you okay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

For our trip, our rooms were some of the cheapest in Durango. So I wasn't expecting much. The beds were comfortable. The furniture and decor were older. They had the ultra low flow shower heads so the shower wasn't great. It was mostly quiet in the rooms, but do expect road noise while in the hot tub because it faces a busy road. The packaged pastries were the kind you buy at a convenience store.

They were friendly at the desk and allowed us an extra hour to checkout so we could do a morning river trip.

This is an average motel on a busy street. So I wonder about the excellent reviews. It's just not that excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eilers78751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
1.3 mi away
Knights Inn Durango CO
Knights Inn Durango CO
#2 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adobe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adobe Inn

Property: Adobe Inn
Address: 2178 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4636
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adobe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See why we were voted "Best Lodging Value in Durango" for the 5th Year! We are located in the heart of downtown Durango, Colorado. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Adobe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adobe Hotel Durango
Adobe Motel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing