We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slipping but still good”
Review of Mahogany Grille

Mahogany Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Mahogany Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 195 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 7th Street
Transit: There is a trolley that has frequent stops throughout the Durango downtown area. www.durangotransit.com or 970.259.5538
Description: Mahogany Grille is your place to enjoy handcrafted cuisine while stepping back into time. We offer the ambiance of the Victorian Old West as we serve you an array of eclectic culinary specialties. It’s the blending of the simple with the ornate—of the old with the new. We invite you to view our menu selections where you’ll find a diverse array of faire. So whether you’re looking for a quick bite to eat, a relaxing night out, or to celebrate a special occasion, Mahogany Grille is a premiere Durango restaurant where you can create your own majestic memories.When preparing the Mahogany Grille menu, our award-winning staff gives special focus to farm-fresh recipes that represent new styles with old west flavors. We hand-cut our steaks in our butcher shop, carefully select our foods, and incorporate products by local growers when available creating a mosaic of tastes and textures. This detailed attention to our region is a reflection of our commitment to the great Southwest and its history, exceptional quality, and pleasing our community and visitors.We take pride in being well-versed in fine wine and spirits. Enjoy recommendations from our in-house Sommelier or be visually stimulated by our artisan cocktails. Complimented with our aromatic food, our wines and spirits make quite a delicious impression. One we believe will give you a unique experience that will delight your senses and keep you coming back for more.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Slipping but still good”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This used to be one of our favorite restaurants. Just seemed to make everything special. Always greeted us with a welcome drink and on special occasions provided a small "treat" to celebrate. The food was still good but fairly expensive and the there was no welcome drink or recognition that we were again celebrating an anniversary with them. When you have provided special touches in the past and take them away it is disappointing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    76
    42
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our favorite special occassion restaurant”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We are lucky to have several good restaurants ins Durango. But the Mahogany Grille is on of our favorites. It is our "go to" spot for special occassions. The staff is responsive, the wine list is good without breaking the bank, the ambience is nice and the food is always good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diannecarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Dining Experience”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We ate dinner at the Mahogany Grille for both nights of our stay at the Strater Hotel. We were in Durango for a ride on the narrow gauge train, and it was so convenient to just walk downstairs each night to the hotel restaurant.

The restaurant itself has a very nice atmosphere, and the menu has lots of tasty offerings. My husband could not resist getting the bacon trio appetizer each night - he went crazy over it! He had the elk tenderloin for his entree on our first night there, and the pepper steak on the second night. He really enjoyed both of these meals. I had the potato encrusted chicken my first night there - so delicious! For the second night, I had the farmer's market pasta which was also tasty. Our entrees were served with a nice basket of bread.

For dessert both nights, I had the chocolate avalanche. If you are into rich and chocolate-y desserts, this is the dessert for you!

A real highlight of our dining experiences at the Mahogany Grille was the restaurant staff. All staff members we came into contact with including the hostess and restaurant manager were courteous and friendly. Our server, Toby, was fantastic! We had such great service with Toby the first night that we asked for him as our server in our second night too. Toby was very knowledgeable and all his wine and food recommendations were spot-on. In addition, he was very personable and fun to talk with. Toby rocks!

All in all, we had great dinner experiences at the Mahogany Grille and can highly recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank auburn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“MAHOGANY GRILLE”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Another great restaurant in Durango. Four of us went last night,9/1/2013, and had a great meal and service. I thought THE RED SNAPPER was the best ,but they are about even. The atmosphere at the Mahogany was better. I read all reviews,some were not so good and I don't no why. We will be going back tonight.
BUD CARTER

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BUDCARTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Don't understand other reviews with negative comments. Only one other place in Colorado have I had a pork steak close to as good. We had great service and the ambiance is first rate. A real find.



  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahogany Grille also viewed

 

Been to Mahogany Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing