We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overpriced”
Review of Caboose Motel

Caboose Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caboose Motel
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“overpriced”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here for one night in June and can't understand why this place gets such top reviews. Our first impression was not good. Yes, the owner was friendly and helpful, but the office was dark and dingy and smelled of smoke. Our room had just been cleaned, but the fridge was still full of the previous guest's food, which indicates that the cleaning job wasn't very thorough. All the fixtures were ancient although clean (we think) and in working condition. Overall, the motel seems like it's patched together and on its last legs with no effort put into updates. An average stay but overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank getaway_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    55
    20
    10
    17
See reviews for
34
61
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tijeras, New Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We've stayed here in 2013 when riding the train to Silverton and decided to stay again this weekend.
This is a small property and privately owned and operated by nice friendly and helpful people.

The rooms are nice, clean and roomy with a western themed decor.

Our room was right by the highway so a bit noisy, but not too bad with the A/C running and keeping us cool.
No phones in the room which is a nice thing for vacationing!
This is a short drive north of downtown and near restaurants, grocery stores, and of course the TRAIN!
If you want a change from the big chain hotels, this is a nice place and fun!

Room Tip: You might be best selecting a room away from the main highway that goes by. It's not that bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astrobeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is an older motel that is family owned and operated. The staff and owners were very accommodating and friendly. We got here a night early and stayed in another room, other than our reservation. Good comfortable bed, firm but plush. The next morning they did up the room we had reserved first and we were able to switch seamlessly. The beds are never older than 3 yrs and are all Serta. The rooms are very clean and for the high season in Durango, the rates are very good.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a kitchenette, all have micro, coffee and refrig.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Was exactly what we needed after a long drive. Good price clean room and comfortable bed. Very quiet location but very close to everything in Durango. Maureen was very friendly and full of information. Will definalty stay here again. Hopefully longer next time.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hookstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I just spent 3 days at the Caboose Motel in Durango CO. Everything was perfect for us. Would stay here again if ever in Durango, CO. The motel was just yards from the Durango Trolley which provides a free ride to the downtown. Excellent!

Room Tip: I prefer the type of room that allows me to park at my door...this motel gives you that option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosie1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Liked this place so much we stayed two nights. Used as a base to visit Mesa Verde, Only 1/2 hour away. There is a free trolley that picks up 3xper hour to take you in town to shops and restaurants. Well worth the trip to town. Live music everywhere. Loved Durango and our hotel. The managers were wonderful and helpful.
No frills, no breakfast. Mom and pop place not big box.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Truly the charm of Durango :)
Can I just say that...I love a kichten! The room had several eclectic touches that made it more homey. Lovely, friendly and nice owner. We will definitely stay again. B-E-A-utiful!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan6926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
1.2 mi away
EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
1.8 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#11 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
2.2 mi away
Durango Downtown Inn
Durango Downtown Inn
#22 of 33 in Durango
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Siesta Motel
Siesta Motel
#14 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caboose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caboose Motel

Property: Caboose Motel
Address: 3363 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4024
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Caboose Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Caboose Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caboose Motel Durango
Caboose Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing