We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Caboose and caboodle” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caboose Motel

Caboose Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Caboose Motel
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Tijeras, New Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Caboose and caboodle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We've stayed here in 2013 when riding the train to Silverton and decided to stay again this weekend.
This is a small property and privately owned and operated by nice friendly and helpful people.

The rooms are nice, clean and roomy with a western themed decor.

Our room was right by the highway so a bit noisy, but not too bad with the A/C running and keeping us cool.
No phones in the room which is a nice thing for vacationing!
This is a short drive north of downtown and near restaurants, grocery stores, and of course the TRAIN!
If you want a change from the big chain hotels, this is a nice place and fun!

Room Tip: You might be best selecting a room away from the main highway that goes by. It's not that bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astrobeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    55
    20
    10
    17
See reviews for
34
60
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indio, California, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is an older motel that is family owned and operated. The staff and owners were very accommodating and friendly. We got here a night early and stayed in another room, other than our reservation. Good comfortable bed, firm but plush. The next morning they did up the room we had reserved first and we were able to switch seamlessly. The beds are never older than 3 yrs and are all Serta. The rooms are very clean and for the high season in Durango, the rates are very good.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a kitchenette, all have micro, coffee and refrig.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Was exactly what we needed after a long drive. Good price clean room and comfortable bed. Very quiet location but very close to everything in Durango. Maureen was very friendly and full of information. Will definalty stay here again. Hopefully longer next time.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hookstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

I just spent 3 days at the Caboose Motel in Durango CO. Everything was perfect for us. Would stay here again if ever in Durango, CO. The motel was just yards from the Durango Trolley which provides a free ride to the downtown. Excellent!

Room Tip: I prefer the type of room that allows me to park at my door...this motel gives you that option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosie1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Liked this place so much we stayed two nights. Used as a base to visit Mesa Verde, Only 1/2 hour away. There is a free trolley that picks up 3xper hour to take you in town to shops and restaurants. Well worth the trip to town. Live music everywhere. Loved Durango and our hotel. The managers were wonderful and helpful.
No frills, no breakfast. Mom and pop place not big box.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Truly the charm of Durango :)
Can I just say that...I love a kichten! The room had several eclectic touches that made it more homey. Lovely, friendly and nice owner. We will definitely stay again. B-E-A-utiful!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan6926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
245 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

...great quaint motel! Stayed again, and this time I had the King Room (instead of the 2 queens). The beds were newer and softer than the queens. The room was very nice - stayed here numerous times, and each time they go the extra mile to make sure the guest has everything they need. Terri wasn't there this time, but the owner was just as nice!!

It's much cheaper than the all the hotels/motels in Durango, and you are not at risk when you stay here. No surly characters - the rooms are super clean... It's a great no frills motel!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KUMtngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
Knights Inn Durango CO
Knights Inn Durango CO
#2 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.2 mi away
EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
1.8 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
2.4 mi away
Durango Lodge
Durango Lodge
#18 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Siesta Motel
Siesta Motel
#14 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caboose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caboose Motel

Property: Caboose Motel
Address: 3363 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4024
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caboose Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Caboose Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caboose Motel Durango
Caboose Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing