We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll be happily surprised”
Review of Caboose Motel

Caboose Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Caboose Motel
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You'll be happily surprised”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Pulled into Durango with 2 kids and no room reservations in town. Pulled into about 4 places along Main Ave and found prices way too high for what they offered. I mean, $149 for a basic room just doesn't sit we'll with me. Almost took a room at the Budget Inn for $54 but let's jus say it wasn't quite clean. I would had the kids use their sleeping bags. Drive down a block to the Caboose and the manager, Terry, was so nice and insisted we look at a room before settling on the Budget. So glad we did. Rooms are not fancy but charming, clean and perfect for a family. Comfy beds. Great water pressure in shower. A little more than Budget, but so much better!! Family owned and full of character. Our room was a basic with 2 queen beds but they also have ones with a small kitchen which I would boom next time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meridith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    57
    21
    12
    18
See reviews for
35
65
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Getting an affordable place to stay in Durango is always a challenge. This is a Mom and Pop American owned and managed motel centrally located and very comfortable. Biker friendly the staff goes the extra mile to ensure a great stay. No breakfast but close to several good restaurants. Will stay here again

Room Tip: Rooms along the back are best for bike parking. Although we had a side room the manager offered us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwinginit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijeras, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed two nights during the 4th of July weekend and loved the place. The room was clean and the bed comfy. It's just north of historic downtown but convenient to the train station and restaurants. It is older,but it's charming and beats the chain hotels by miles in character. The front desk person was helpful and friendly. If you want homemade comfort, this is the place to go!

Room Tip: rooms away from the road are a bit quieter, but the noise level on the street is really not that not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank astrobeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Seems appropriate that the top rated lodging in Durango is the huge megaplex plastic and safe chain lodge (ugly, ugly roadside blight). This what most of the people want. They are really missing out on boutique motels, a growing trend. Its the lodging back-lash to the chains, just like in restaurants. But in our case, these old motor lodges are being rescued and saved. The neon signs themselves are worth preserving. Be a sport and take a break from your frequent flyer cards and try one. Yes, it could be hit and miss, because these places are only as good as the owners. In the Caboose's case, it was worth it. Clean and nice and very personable. I don't agree with the owner's decorating, but I'll give her that be it is her! We had a fine time staying there for 2 nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crestlinecolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff was very friendly. It is a way from downtown, but that was fine with us. We would stay here again and would recommend this hotel if you like simple, clean rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

the rooms are small, but very well equipped, this is an old motel, but remodeled ok! the location is a little far from town, the bed was hard and the pillows were like rocks, for the money its not a great value! they're very proud of their rooms! they will only give you a decent rate which is still high if they're not full!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank revDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Bend, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We booked 3 rooms and each room was uniquely decorated! The owner was very nice and helpful to direct us to great local hangouts! The rooms were clean and beds comfortable! Great location - no pool for kids but we did not require one. Highly recommend !!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSDoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
243 reviews
1.2 mi away
EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#13 of 33 in Durango
372 reviews
22.9 mi away
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
0.1 mi away
Siesta Motel
Siesta Motel
#14 of 33 in Durango
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caboose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caboose Motel

Property: Caboose Motel
Address: 3363 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4024
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caboose Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Caboose Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caboose Motel Durango
Caboose Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing