We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big disappointment!”
Review of Caboose Motel

Caboose Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caboose Motel
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Holmes, NY USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Big disappointment!”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Worse motel we ever stayed at. Not sure why they called it Caboose Motel. Rooms very out of date and old. Toilet seat looked like an original with cracks and worn out... disgusting! We wouldn't even sit on it. No shampoo, no hair dryer, shabby towels. Couldn't wait to get out of there. Way overpriced. Too bad since we try to support small business on our travels. Don't waste your money on this one.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    57
    21
    12
    18
See reviews for
35
65
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed here during a month long road trip as we wanted to visit Durango and I've always had a fascination with trains. But the caboose theme ends at the lobby. The room are very plain and a bit outdated. The staff wasn't pleasant but coming through town again I think I'd choose to stay elsewhere. Perhaps someplace closer into town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank courtney9384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPaz Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

My two college age kids and I stayed overnight in June of 2011 and we found the motel very quaint in a nice way. I noticed that another person's review wasn't so happy with everything; but I feel like they would be better off at the more expensive hotels down the road since they seem a little more persnickety. Which is fine, but don't most people understand that a typical motel is going to be a little bit older, and that is what gives the room character? Anyways, we found the room to be clean, and a GREAT price, along with a nice location. Durango can be very expensive, so if you are wanting a good deal, then check out the Caboose Motel. The staff was extremely nice and helpful as well. Since it was our first time to Durango, they gave us some useful information on the sights etc. Would go back in a heartbeat!
Beth S.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We had rather a strange start at the Caboose. Checked in no problem but when my husband went to wash his hands he discovered there was no plug for the basin in the bathroom. Maureen told him they’d disabled the mechanical plugs because people got confused with them and broke them. Doesn’t seem to happen in any other motel/hotel we’ve used ! Anyway she rootled around in another unit and came back with one but that was the wrong size so she said she’d have to get on from the hardware store and it might not be the same day. In the end she must have managed because there as one when we returned from shopping. She did seem to think we were a bit odd for wanting one – ah well, each to their own.

The rooms were what we’d describe as surface clean - not deep clean. The dust/grease on the cooker extractor hood was a bit yucky. The kitchenette was a bit minimalist, just a small hob with a couple of burners, a sink, fridge/freezer, microwave and coffee machine. The cooking equipment was very limited and all needed a good clean before we used it. One of the glass saucepans was so chipped we didn’t dare use it. The crockery and cutlery we reckon was bought from a thrift shop – nothing matched and mostly chipped and cracked. There were two glasses, both about pint size which made for interesting wine consumption ;-)

On our second evening the gas burners failed to light and we had to bum a light off a smoker standing outside another unit – there was nobody at reception. We didn’t think much of it and bought a lighter the next day but on returning to the room there was a very noticeable smell of gas - we were surprised that the cleaner hadn’t noticed. Nobody at reception again but we managed to catch up with Terri (the motel’s greatest asset) and she said it was the pilot lights gone out and that it happened all the time. She gave us a proper long nosed lighter and we had to use that a few more times during the stay.

The décor is tired and there are too many dust-traps scattered around – superfluous fake flowers and other trinkets.

OK, those were the downs, the plusses were that Maureen (owner) gave us a discount as we stayed for 5 nights and with the kitchenette this made it a reasonably priced stay. The location is fine and is perfect for self-catering as the City Market is almost opposite. As I said, Terri is the motel’s best asset, she’s friendly and helpful.

Don’t think we’d return despite the price though.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rojanich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

This is a great place for Harley Owner's Group riders. It reminds me of the hotels of the yester years. It's clean, comfortable, and they are Harley friendly. They provide a clean rag and a bucket upon request so you can wash your Harely. Terry, has been just wonderful to work with the two times we have stayed with them. She is a good source for what to do and were to eat.
Please treat these people at the Caboose with respect so we can enjoy staying here for a long time to come. Harley riders are different in a good way. We leave with the owners wanting us to see us again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

The rooms are decorated in a cabin style, not your bulk standard motel.
The receptionist was friendly and helpful, and the room was reasonably priced at $48.
Some traffic noise from the road, so would recommend ear plugs.
Oh, and don't expect to be able to walk to the historic downtown as it's almost 3 miles :-)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaH72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinetop-Lakeside, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Did not have reservation but had noticed motel on previous trips to Durango: cute from outside, name intrigued me. Had priced around town, finding room rates to be across the board but a busy time of year. For the price Caboose Motel charged us (two pax for about $95/night) we should have been staying in a NICE motel, not this basic, "plain jane" motel......not even dual pane windows (traffic was LOUD!) nor was breakfast included...must say bathroom was clean & they do provide a four cup coffee maker, small fridge & microwave. Just found that motel is way over priced for what they offer, esp. for a midweek stay (Monday and Tuesday nights) even if it was July....I'd have GLADLY paid $49/night but NOT double!

Room Tip: IF you have to stay there, ask for room away from main road: LOUD and windows are NOT dual paned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhiinnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
217 reviews
1.2 mi away
EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 33 in Durango
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#13 of 33 in Durango
340 reviews
2.7 mi away
Durango Lodge
Durango Lodge
#20 of 33 in Durango
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Siesta Motel
Siesta Motel
#14 of 33 in Durango
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caboose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caboose Motel

Property: Caboose Motel
Address: 3363 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4024
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caboose Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Caboose Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caboose Motel Durango
Caboose Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing