We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved this place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Durango Riverside Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“loved this place!”
Reviewed September 1, 2010

The first night of our vacation we stopped at the KOA in Durango, which was nice, but my husband wanted something a little different so went looking the next morning. Late that first morning we found this place and stayed two nights, no reservations. We have a pop up camper and got a tent space with no electricity/water, which is what my husband chose. Before we paid, an employee took us around in a golf cart to show us the open spaces and the restrooms, etc. The restrooms were clean, a huge plus. The park was quiet, I felt bad making any noise, afraid we were disturbing others. They had employees riding around in the mornings collecting garbage, etc, but we took ours to the big dumpster available at the front anytime we ate. Everyone was very friendly and we enjoyed fishing and wading in the river next to the park. It was beautiful here and I would stay there again. They had a pool but we didn't use it. Got ice cream from their shop one evening. Had a game room but we didn't use it, but it looked nice. Used laundry, which was clean and so great! They also had movie night, which my kids enjoyed. Movie played outside on a deck.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank txgirlfriday7678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    29
    9
    15
    8
See reviews for
61
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Florida
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We arrived shortly after the resort had opened for the 2010 season. Everyone was still learning the ropes and they were still readying the resort. Because of a couple very minor mix ups, and how we took them in stride, we were treated to a wonderful upgrade. Everyone was very friendly and we hated to move on. The cabins are nicely equipped and have fabulous porches for sitting by the water, which was really rushing this spring. Can't speak to peak season, but we would (and have) highly recommend early season, before schools break for the summer and families take over the campgrounds! We traveled for 8 weeks across the country and these were some of our best nights!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieLJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Pros: Great Location, we liked being 12 miles north of Durango. Campers very friendly, and we felt safe. The staff was helpful and picks up your trash daily from your site. Hot water every time we showered. We stayed in a tent and our site had its own fire ring, picnic table, parking space, and water spigot. You can also get a site with electricity. It was nice to have a laundromat there.
Cons: Our tent site did slope a little and there were lots of ants. The showers need to be cleaned at least once a day because they get muddy from use.
Overall, we would go back again. We had a great time.
Reserve well in advance for a good tent or RV site.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArizAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

The staff was friendly, restrooms/showers clean, children's activities and close to attractions. We stayed in our vintage camper with 2 children (6 &15). The kids enjoyed the game room, swimming pool and nightly movies. We did not use the restaurant. The store appeared well stocked and contained basic camping goods and t-shirts. Our site was comfortable and the area was clean and quiet. We did walk to the cabins which looked really nice on the river.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sueandmikeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

I was given a site that my rig would not fit into, and when I went to the office I was offered no real assistance. The site I was told I could move in to looked good, but then the camp host told me it was very dusty, and since there seems to be no real attempt to control the speed of vehicles in the park, it was. And then it was noisy well into the night, and as early as three thirty in the mornings.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonEChandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Very nice 3 room cabin we stayed in, and the location is right on the river. It was very nice to wake up to in the morning. Rooms were clean and neat. The mattresses which are supplied in the cabins are hard and not comfortable at all. I suggest bring along some kind of mattress topper for a better nights sleep. The camping site was very clean and the staff maintained the area very nice. Had one small maintenance item I reported to the staff, but was never fixed the during our stay. No big deal. I would stay there again. We had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3rcamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2010

We had only planned to stay at Durango for a couple of days, but when we arrived & found what a nice park it was, we had trouble leaving. We had a site next to the Animas River and ended up staying for 4 nights. The staff went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. The park is very well taken care of & the small problems that did arise were remedied immediately. Their location is great, only about 12 miles from Durango and about 20 miles from Silverton. They are far enough away from the main road that you cannot hear any highway noise; so you can just sit back and relax and listen to the sound of the river. We would definitely recommend this park to anyone, and we are looking forward to returning soon.

Thanks to all at Riverside resort for making our vacation so enjoyable.
Mike & Joyce Peyton

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
9.4 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#13 of 33 in Durango
340 reviews
13.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
12.2 mi away
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
1,035 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
13.5 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#6 of 33 in Durango
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durango Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Riverside Resort

Property: Durango Riverside Resort
Address: 13391 County Road 250, Durango, CO 81301-8602
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Durango
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durango Riverside Resort is a beautiful home away from home in the lovely San Juan Mountains of southwestern Colorado. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Durango Riverside Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing