We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spanish Trails Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Spanish Trails Inn and Suites
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Grand Junction, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Spanish Trails on the way to Santa Fe, NM on July 17th. After reading some of the reviews one would think you would contract hepatitis upon entering your room, so we were pleasantly surprised when we found a clean, comfortable, and large room that was not like what the negative reviews had suggested we would find. The room shows its age, but it was not dirty or sketchy. The desk clerk in both the evening and morning were also very pleasant and helpful. The only complaints are that our room was above the lobby and faced the street, which on a Friday night was rather busy and noisy, there was no soap or shampoo provided, and the room took a long time to cool down because of the small window unit air conditioner located on the opposite side of the room by the bathroom. For the price ($65) in Durango in the peak of summer season, I would certainly stay there again and recommend it to anyone looking for decent budget accommodations instead of a ridiculously priced "name brand" hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbailey80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    35
    15
    22
See reviews for
19
43
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2008

I had a great experience at the Spanish Trails. I was able to book a room at a great rate during the peak of summer. It was clean, quiet, and in a great location. Yes, the hotel is older, but very clean.

The staff was very helpful and gave me great tips as far as fun things to do while I in town.

I love to support locally owned businesses like the Spanish Trails, which gave me great quality for a minimal expense.

Hope you enjoy!

  • Liked — I loved the location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelsearcher4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geopak
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2008

It really was July of 2002. Perhaps the management has changed.
I was traveling with a group of 3 motorcycles. We had no complaints.
The room was clean and fine. I was allowed to park the motorcycle in the carport. I had agreed to $60 a night for 3 nights. Reserved the room with a Discover Card. On arriving I noticed they were advertising a $50 a night rate. I inquired, they lowered the rate to $50 without a squeek.
The help was friendly and helpful.
The clothes washers and driers worked fine.
Walk to the curb and take the bus to town. How convient.

Sorry, some folks have had a bad experience lately.
I would have planned to use the motel again, now I am not so sure.

Stayed July 2004
Helpful?
Thank geopak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2007

Wow! Where do I begin after the experiences of the other two reviewers. I must be crazy, as I stayed two nights at this motel in September 2006! The price was right, $39 for a king-sized bed, but all Durango motels fluctuate wildly from week to week depending on what activity is going on in town at the time of your visit. Check the schedule for events before visiting Durango.
I found my room to be reasonably clean, including the sheets. Ditto the bathroom. This was once one of Durango's best motels (I know, I stayed here with my family in the 60's and 70's!) It draws customers because of it's relatively low prices compared to the newer variety. I agree the desk people were of a "take it or leave it" attitude, but I only went in twice, to get the room, and leaving my key. Some rooms are newer than others also, so maybe the other two had samples of the oldest section, although that doesn't excuse filth certainly. My two day impression of my room was perhaps a C- grade. Microwave, refrigerator included. Grocery right across the street, and the little city tram/bus stops right in front to ride to downtown to avoid the parking insanity. (The only comparable place I've experienced was downtown Santa Fe!) I'd planned to stay here again this summer, but now I don't know. Caveat emptor! Check your room out first before paying for it! Another of life's roll of the dice! LOL! Also, I think the policy of "if you used it" applies across the board in motels. I once used the toilet, before discovering my bolted on TV didn't work properly. I asked for another room, but since they would (they claimed) now have to have the maid return to clean the toilet, I'd still have to pay for the first room! I kept the room and the quasi-operating TV. I could have lied about using anything, but unfortunately, I'm an honest individual...and also didn't think that fast! :-)

  • Liked — Good location, out of the downtown area's traffic mess
  • Disliked — It's starting to show its age.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheTruthAsISeeIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san clemente ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2006

I was passing through town and need a place to stay. this place is a real [--]. I ended up using the nasty shower to get questionably clean, and then slept in the back of my nice clean van. If you like clean happy ammenities, avoid this place at all costs. You could probably catch a disease sleeping in this place.

  • Liked — near freeway
  • Disliked — the filth
  • Tips/Secrets — stay away at all costs
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ssbikeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Durango hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
1.1 mi away
EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
0.3 mi away
Knights Inn Durango CO
Knights Inn Durango CO
#2 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#13 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Durango Travelodge
Durango Travelodge
#30 of 33 in Durango
3.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caboose Motel
Caboose Motel
#23 of 33 in Durango
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Trails Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Trails Inn and Suites

Property: Spanish Trails Inn and Suites
Address: 3141 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4246
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Spanish Trails Inn and Suites 1.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Spanish Trails Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spanish Trails Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing