We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs Updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spanish Trails Inn and Suites
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in Durango
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Needs Updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Durango is amazing town to visit and Spanish Trails are situated on the main road. The Inn needs updating in bedding and we even had broken aircon. The room smell was not good. The best is the supermarket across the road and bus stop to town at the Inn. Very friendly staff member checked us in.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ronelvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    35
    15
    22
See reviews for
19
43
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

What can I say besides Average,Average,Average yet it had everthing was clean, limited cooking[microwave]good safe atmosphere.Close to supermarket if you need it public transport right outside & liquor store.Would stay again,Wifi worked in our room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

First time staying in Durango, CO last time staying at Spanish Trails in Durango. Office is open only from 10:00 AM til 7:00 PM, I've number the complaints.
1. If you need it later at night, or earlier in the morning, well your just out of luck.
2. Parking spots are very narrow, even for a small car, Pick-up or full size just cann't fit in.
3. Very out dated, curtains are worn out, can see rips in the fabric, let daylite in.
4. Ice Machine, want ice your going to pay 50 cents to use the ice machine.
5. Carpets so old, has bad stains in them, like blood that has dryed from years ago.
6. Wi Fi doesn't work, that's why it listed as free.
7. Was doubled charged on the credit card. Had to pay in advance for the rate of $75.00.
8. This was probly has got to be the worse motel I think I've ever stayed in in my 40 years of traveling around the country.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paulflagler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Durango hotels

Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the $69 rooms with two queen beds. The room was clean and had good wifi. It is a very good place if you want a good large room with an excellent bed. There is even a small kitchen sink. Nice if you stay more nights. The staff is very friendly. On the other side of the street is a big supermarket. Convenient. Street noise is what you can expect if a motel is next to a street, but was no problem to us even with the window completely opened. Some chairs in the walkway give a nice seat in front of the room. All in all a good place to stay. A place I would recommend to friends and family.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank msp60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Some of the previous reviewers are delicate flowers who probably should never leave home. I stayed here on my own and all was well. Noone tried to break into my room or my brand new car or kidnap me and sell me into the white slave trade. The desk clerk was friendly, the room was clean and comfortable and it was 40 bucks which is damn good value for Durango.

Room Tip: It's. Not the Ritz. It doesn't pretend to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

This was a very gross hotel from first glance. It was obviously a very busy hotel by the looks of the parking lot. Gave this hotel a chance while I was traveling through for Christmas. The hotel room itself was very dirty and very dated. The floor heating system did not work, there was mold in the bathroom, the bath tub was not cleaned. The front staff was not friendly at all. It was a very scary hotel to be at during the 3 day stay I was there. The cops had showed up twice during my three day stay where individuals had gotten arrested. Somebody who was staying next to mr stated there was an issue with crime at the hotel. I travel through Durango when I am coming or going for school and I will not recommended this hotel to anyone or stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Denverlovebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwestmama55, General Manager at Spanish Trails Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Durango is a tourist town and a college town and therefore all hotels in town have issues with
crazy patrons. Sorry that this customer wasn't happy with his stay. Most realize that for the price they are not going to get the Ritz. We are constantly updating and perhaps this patron was in one
of the few rooms not yet attended to - wintertime is our remodel/update time as we are always booked in the summer. Our hotel is not any more police-patroled than any of the others which goes back to being a college town and tourist area. People are here to relax and sometimes get a little
crazy. So sorry this patron felt unsafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

This place was only $40 a night so I didn't expect much. The room was the worst smelling room I've ever been in. It was obviously smoked in... For years. Bedding was burnt and stained so I'm glad I had my own sleeping bag which is still being washed. Spend a few $ more and have a good night somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DRayhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwestmama55, Manager at Spanish Trails Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
This guest booked himself into a smoking room so I can't understand his complaint about the room smelling like smoke. If he did not wish to have a smoking room, we had many other non-smoking accomodations available. I am sorry he felt that our accomodations were not up to his standards.
We strive to serve those on a very tight budget and our ammenities reflect this. We do our best to make sure everyone is happy with their stay and if this guest had spoken with our staff, those
issues would have been addressed. I assume he has stayed at EVERY other hotel in the United States since he has determined that ours is the very worst in the United States. Hard to believe
that is the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
1.0 mi away
EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
0.3 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caboose Motel
Caboose Motel
#23 of 33 in Durango
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Durango Travelodge
Durango Travelodge
#30 of 33 in Durango
3.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Durango
Days Inn Durango
#21 of 33 in Durango
3.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Trails Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Trails Inn and Suites

Property: Spanish Trails Inn and Suites
Address: 3141 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4246
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Spanish Trails Inn and Suites 1.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spanish Trails Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spanish Trails Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing