We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Cheap and serviceable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spanish Trails Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spanish Trails Inn and Suites
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in Durango
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Cheap and serviceable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Some of the previous reviewers are delicate flowers who probably should never leave home. I stayed here on my own and all was well. Noone tried to break into my room or my brand new car or kidnap me and sell me into the white slave trade. The desk clerk was friendly, the room was clean and comfortable and it was 40 bucks which is damn good value for Durango.

Room Tip: It's. Not the Ritz. It doesn't pretend to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    35
    15
    22
See reviews for
19
43
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

This was a very gross hotel from first glance. It was obviously a very busy hotel by the looks of the parking lot. Gave this hotel a chance while I was traveling through for Christmas. The hotel room itself was very dirty and very dated. The floor heating system did not work, there was mold in the bathroom, the bath tub was not cleaned. The front staff was not friendly at all. It was a very scary hotel to be at during the 3 day stay I was there. The cops had showed up twice during my three day stay where individuals had gotten arrested. Somebody who was staying next to mr stated there was an issue with crime at the hotel. I travel through Durango when I am coming or going for school and I will not recommended this hotel to anyone or stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Denverlovebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwestmama55, General Manager at Spanish Trails Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Durango is a tourist town and a college town and therefore all hotels in town have issues with
crazy patrons. Sorry that this customer wasn't happy with his stay. Most realize that for the price they are not going to get the Ritz. We are constantly updating and perhaps this patron was in one
of the few rooms not yet attended to - wintertime is our remodel/update time as we are always booked in the summer. Our hotel is not any more police-patroled than any of the others which goes back to being a college town and tourist area. People are here to relax and sometimes get a little
crazy. So sorry this patron felt unsafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Durango hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

This place was only $40 a night so I didn't expect much. The room was the worst smelling room I've ever been in. It was obviously smoked in... For years. Bedding was burnt and stained so I'm glad I had my own sleeping bag which is still being washed. Spend a few $ more and have a good night somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DRayhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwestmama55, Manager at Spanish Trails Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
This guest booked himself into a smoking room so I can't understand his complaint about the room smelling like smoke. If he did not wish to have a smoking room, we had many other non-smoking accomodations available. I am sorry he felt that our accomodations were not up to his standards.
We strive to serve those on a very tight budget and our ammenities reflect this. We do our best to make sure everyone is happy with their stay and if this guest had spoken with our staff, those
issues would have been addressed. I assume he has stayed at EVERY other hotel in the United States since he has determined that ours is the very worst in the United States. Hard to believe
that is the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

My fiance and I arrived in Durango late at night and were just looking for a cheap place to rest our heads after a 40hr journey across the country. The price was very reasonable and the first night was not that bad, relatively quiet and we just needed to sleep. After the first night being ok, we decided to stay for a couple more nights while we were searching for an apartment to move in to. The longer we stayed, the worse things got. Like the reviewer below- there was a couple that we needed to tell the front desk about because of domestic abuse. It was awful and we felt very unsafe. Unfortunely, the front desk only told the couple that was fighting that they either needed to quiet down or they would be kicked out. As the night went on- the couple brought back a bunch of extremely intoxicated people who stayed up and partied all night. The cost was the only good thing about this place- it's very unfortunate because it could be a great spot for budget travelers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravels1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed here for the cost and for far less, this place still wouldn't be worth it. Its grimy and the copious amount of meth heads in the place, both staying and working at the establishment make it the sleaziest place in Durango.

We wanted a non-smoking room and it reeked of smoke anyways. The police were called a couple times due to domestic disputes and drug use. Overall, I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

Just terrible.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

This place is good for ski bums and biker gangs only. It looks like the kind of place you would have a kegger. The beds "looked" clean but it didn't feel clean. Neither my fiancé or myself slept well at all. The lighting was not that good. The free WiFi didn't work. Very much a no frills kind of place. I would no recommend this to anybody.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed in the hotel two times in 2013. At first, we were hesitant, seeing some negative reviews, but were attracted by the price. We were so glad we decided to give it a try! The place is just a standard well-maintained motel, no luxuries here, but: you cannot beat the price; it is just 7 min away from downtown on a FREE trolley and the stop is next to the hotel; and there is an excellent food+drug store across the street. In addition, the stuff was very friendly and happy to accommodate any requests of ours. Will stay there again next time we are in town.

Room Tip: May be a little noisy if the room is close to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IM_traveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
1.1 mi away
EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
0.3 mi away
Knights Inn Durango CO
Knights Inn Durango CO
#2 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Durango Travelodge
Durango Travelodge
#29 of 33 in Durango
3.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caboose Motel
Caboose Motel
#23 of 33 in Durango
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Trails Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Trails Inn and Suites

Property: Spanish Trails Inn and Suites
Address: 3141 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4246
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Spanish Trails Inn and Suites 1.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Spanish Trails Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spanish Trails Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing