We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice stay with easy ride to town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spanish Trails Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spanish Trails Inn and Suites
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Clontarf, Queensland
Level Contributor
280 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Nice stay with easy ride to town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were going to give Durango a miss as the motels looked very expensive. We found this place whilst reading through some TA reviews and my word this place lived up to them.

We arrived earlier than planned but were still welcomed warmly by the lady on the desk and allowed to book in to our room. OK it was not the Ritz, but it was great for the price, a fridge, wifi, a shared balcony. The room was clean and looked out towards the road, we spent a couple of hours just watching the coming and going from the veranda.

The motel was opposite a major grocery store and liquor store. The trolley to downtown (free) stopped more or less outside the door. We took the trolley in and walked off our dinner back (about a 30-40 minute walk).

I do urge people to forget about staying at very high prices downtown a give this place a try, we paid a total of $75, well worth it, thanks

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    35
    15
    22
See reviews for
19
43
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Really good little motel, very cheap ($40 queen, in peak season) friendly, clean and comfortable. A/c a little noisy, but did the trick. Considering its out of town, felt safe too. Supermarket across the street makes up for lack of facilities inside the rooms. Only major drawback for this place is the location - certainly not town centre, a good hours walk into downtown Durango - however, its on the main drag, which is served by regular FREE trolleys, that take you into and out of town all day. We had no problems using this, even late at night. Overall, great stay, great bargain.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Char30888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our room was quiet, clean and comfortable. The room had a fridge and microwave. It was roomy and had a good bed (king). We were there on July 4, and I think it was a relatively good value. Front desk was couteous and friendly. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rob e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were very worried about our room before we got there! Had booked the room & then heard not so good review! Totally wrong! Very comfortable king bed, room was clean & roomy! The only thing missing was a coffee maker, but there was a Starbuck's across street. We will definitely stay at this motel again! Staff was very accomodating & friendly! Thank you for that!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondebiker56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisbee, Arizona
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I would give a 2.5. The carpet, a very old one, held a less than pleasant odor. Beds were okay, a little too soft. Pleasant staff, polite accommodating young man. Not a great crowd staying there. Had a fridge and microwave. AC did work ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Don't let the outside of this motel fool you! Room appeared clean and staff were nice but that is about it for favorable comments. For $69 I wasn't expecting palace but... No clock, no hair dryer, exposed carpet tack (which I stepped on), no hooks or bar for wet towels, terrible wifi signal, no coffee in room... I could go on. At least find somewhere cheaper if what I've said doesn't bother you.

Room Tip: Look around at a number of travel sites before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Durango hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

After reading several unfavorable reviews on this property, I must admit we were somewhat skeptical of renting a room there. Fears were totally unfounded. Room was clean, beds were comfortable, air conditioning, shower and refrigerator worked well...no complaints whatsoever. There are few things in this world that are "perfect". We have come to the conclusion that there are a lot of "glass half empty" people out there with too much time on their hands. Thanks for the good nights rest!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Finley14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
1.1 mi away
EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
0.3 mi away
Knights Inn Durango CO
Knights Inn Durango CO
#2 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Durango Travelodge
Durango Travelodge
#29 of 33 in Durango
3.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caboose Motel
Caboose Motel
#23 of 33 in Durango
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Trails Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Trails Inn and Suites

Property: Spanish Trails Inn and Suites
Address: 3141 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4246
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Spanish Trails Inn and Suites 1.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Spanish Trails Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spanish Trails Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing