We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great dining experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Snapper

The Red Snapper
144 E 9th St, Durango, CO 81301-5430
970-259-3417
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 183 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Being from Texas gulf coast, I was not sure about seafood in Colorado. Gave it a try with my husband & three kids and am glad we did. Grilled shrimp was excellent and salad bar had a nice variety. Our bill was pretty high but it was worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kas913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    60
    27
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“A must in Durango!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I recently visited Durango for the first time. We found the Red Snapper through a local we sat next to that morning at a cafe. He had said it was a half a block off of main street but it was awesome seafood and a great salad bar. So we decided to take his advice and we were so thankful we did. We were greeted promptly by the owners John and nancy at the door. We decide to sit at the bar first for a glass of wine before dinner. We had such a great bartender that we decided to stay a dine at the bar. Everything was great! The best scallops I've ever had which was very surprising because we were in a small mountain town. We had such a fabulous time. we will definitely be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlieferr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“I'm hooked!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

I was very pleased the other night to venture into The Red Snapper just off Main st. in Durango, Co. Coming from California, my wife and I are usually skeptical of real seafood fare. We were pleasantly surprised by the wonderful atmosphere, top notch service and amazing dishes. We enjoyed the delicious and moderately priced lobster pie an my wife was gaga over the tequila shrimp. Cocktails were creative and tasty. Next time we are back in town The Red Snapper will be our first stop. Thank you to all of the staff for a wonderful experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank a2m2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Lawn, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stay Away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The local magazines describe this place as "fine dining"....NOT. First thing wrong; butter had an off taste. When questioned, the waitress admitted that they cut the butter with margarine! Menu lists chicken diablo made with a bone-in chicken breast. NOT! It was a thigh that was about 3 ounces. "Lobster" pot pie contained nothing but crab...no lobster. When we asked to speak to the manager, he was indifferent at best and downright rude at the least. Flat out told us that while the customer is always right, we were wrong! I have eaten enough lobster in my day and cut up enough chicken in my day to know a thigh bone when I see one and lobster when it's not. The manager said "sorry" and walked away. The waitress apologized profusely but it isn't her fault...she's serving what the cook....notice I didn't say chef....puts out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank PatM60453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pleasant, SC
Level Contributor
224 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Red Snapper is a half block off of the main street and truly wonderful. As its name implies, they have lots of seafood on the menu. They have one of the best salad bars that I have seen in years. Our server was Buzz and in addition to being professional and efficient, a pure delight.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy-SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Snapper also viewed

 

Been to The Red Snapper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing