We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Super location and value, service above & beyond” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Durango Lodge
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Super location and value, service above & beyond”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

This lodge has got the best location in town. If you're interested in exploring Old Town Durango and maybe hiking an entire block to the train depot for your old-timey rail adventure. ;-) The rates were excellent and the free breakfast was better than average. Free in-room wi fi was a wonderful bonus. The customer service exceeded my expectations, too, when I left a pair of earrings in the room, I emailed the next day and without hesitation, the manager retrieved the jewelry and mailed them to my home at no cost to me. If I'm ever in Durango again, and I hope I am because it's a great old mountain town with tons of atmosphere, I would stay here again, no question.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    106
    44
    7
    11
See reviews for
57
108
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

I recently read a review from a pagosa visitor to this hotel and totally disagree. We grew up in the durango area and our career tracks took us to Denver, but we have always chosen to return to this hotel for their honest local hospitality and caring of their guests. I do agree that the halls and area are patroled for the safety and comfort of their guests. They do not tolerate loud guests, parties or any other situation that will affect their other guests. As a traveler I choose to continue to stay with this tpe of family atmosphered hotels because I can sleep comfortably knowning that I am in a safe environment. We have stayed with family, friends and have recommended clients here and never have we been given a negative review.

IT IS NOT the Marriott, Radisson, or General Palmer but neither are their prices................please consider staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ladycolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

the prices are the same as the General Palmer steps away and 1/8 of the amenities... The Manager patrolled the hallways at night , and was even standing outside our window on the sidewalk street side ..This is not a good choice if your headed to Durango to hear music ... A much better option if the Historic Strater or the Best western ..... They all cost about the same.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank fiddles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

This is probably the best value in downtown Durango, since everything else we looked at was almost twice the price. The room was clean. The bathroom looked new. We asked for a balcony room and were able to get one which was nice. We were on the west side of the motel, however, and some process at the railroad center sprewed smoke and noise almost constantly. Didn't make for a restful sleep the first night when we had the window open for the purpose of enjoying the mountain air. Try for a room on the east side which may be quieter. The hallway had a musty smell and was very dark. Luckily, the room didn't take on the odor. A decent stay and I'd stay again if in Durango.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EastBeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colby, Kansas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

We had a very comfortable second floor room with a balcony overlooking the street but it was still quiet. The continental breakfast had some excellent doughnuts from a local shop. We parked the car when we arrived and didn't move it until we left 2 days later. The check in clerk was very helpful about places to eat. There are a lot of shops and restaurants that you can walk around and see as well.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We were satisfied with our room and in particular the location of the Durango Lodge. When we found out the lock on our door was broken and the room would be unlocked while we were out, the receptionist was extremely helpful and ended up contacting the owner, a very friendly guy who came from his home to see it he could fix it. Unfortunately he couldn’t, and although he assured us that crime in Durango is virtually nil, he let us put our valuables with the receptionist who said she would stay late beyond her shift time until we got back from dinner. Nothing was too much trouble and we really appreciated this.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jospanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville,florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

This is a good choice if you are on a budget. Room was clean, and had a nice little outside terrace . Very convenient one block walk to the Durango Silverton RR , stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank setvlori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#6 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 32 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Durango Downtown Inn
Durango Downtown Inn
#19 of 32 in Durango
3.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#8 of 32 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durango Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Lodge

Property: Durango Lodge
Address: 150 E 5th, Durango, CO
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Durango Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small motel in downtown Durango. Clean, comfortable, reasonably priced! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Durango Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing