We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location + view”
Review of Durango Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Durango Lodge
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Reviewed October 11, 2013

After trying two other hotels nearby, we were pleased to get a room at a reasonable rate so close to the town centre. Parking seems to be an issue in Durango so we were also relieved to get a space in the motel. Glad we'd arrived about 2pm and got a space.

We got room above the office, I've since read reviews about this room being smelly, but we really didn't notice this when we stayed (19-22 Sep). I was more interested in getting a balcony out onto the street so I could people-watch. It was great!

Stayed two nights and the only minor problem I could think of was the sounds of other guests getting their breakfast in the office/foyer each morning.

Had no problem with staff attitude, we stopped by reception on our way to dinner and the receptionist complimented me on my outfit, so I won't complain about that....

All in all, we had a great experience and it was ideal for walking into town. We didn't use the car for two days and there's a City Market foodstore in walking distance so that was ideal for us to stock up on picnic supplies and water.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony onto the street, no problems with street noise but we were there in Septem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heatherbellescotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 263 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

An amazing place found by chance. Near to the end of a three week trip we stayed for 3 nights. We found the staff polite, friendly and helpful. Great location - not far from train station and downtown Durango so could park car and walk everywhere. Rooms had view of the car park but had reasonable rates. Did not have time to use pool. Breakfast adequate. Loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 909Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

stayed here during our summer road trip. Small quaint motel with family run feel. Reasonable rates for the quality. Very clean and everything worked. Small parking lot but still found a spot during busy season. Wish we could have stayed longer. Loved it.

Room Tip: Try to get room with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Half way through a 3 week road trip we stopped off in Durango for a few days off. I’m so glad we chose to stay here. It’s nothing too fancy, but I also think their website undersells it a bit. The rooms might be of average size (with views of the car park), but they are immaculately kept and the complimentary toiletries were actually nice enough that you wanted to use them. It's a small thing, but an effort that many places wouldn't bother with. The hot tub was hot and the pool was beautiful and refreshingly cool for a change. It’s located near the train station so you’re immersed in the sound of the steam train a couple of times a day which gives it a bit of added ambiance. Hassle free and relaxing. And it’s in Durango. You cant go wrong.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrMarc034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Durango Lodge is amazing! After a not so good stay in another town, we arrived at the Durango Lodge to check in. Our reservation was ready; the person at the desk was so nice and friendly...the room was wonderful!
We had a king room, balcony over looking the street and some of downtown, I could have stayed there forever!!
We could tell right away it was worth every penny!!
Make sure if you destination is Durango, Colorado; the Durango Lodge is on your list...make your reservations the rooms go quickly!! You can sit on the balcony and listen to the train whistle, then walk down a few blocks at eat at Francisco's.....We are going back!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms with the balconies.....amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Smelly, dirty, and no really good parking. If its for just a night, well, OK, but if you plan on staying, look further. We were advised it was a good place...not good advice. Maybe we were expecting something better but this is not our idea of great! The only good thing is it is near the narrow gauge train and close to town.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Located right smack downtown, the Durango Lodge, although dated and showing it's age, is the spot to stay. Park your car and never touch it again while you are checked in. Our first room really had a foul odor and the desk clerk suggested immediately moving us to another room which, although near the first room, was odor free and noticeably cooler. Good move there.
There is a pool and a hot tub on site although we didn't feel the urge to use it.
This property is overdue for a make over and hopefully they won't raise rates if that happens as it is still relatively affordable to stay here. Recommended.

Room Tip: Don't get the corner room above the office...it stinks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank murphy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.7 mi away
Durango Downtown Inn
Durango Downtown Inn
#25 of 34 in Durango
359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
0.5 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 34 in Durango
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#1 of 34 in Durango
286 reviews
0.5 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#12 of 34 in Durango
501 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durango Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Lodge

Address: 150 E 5th, Durango, CO
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Price Range: $70 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Durango Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small motel in downtown Durango. Clean, comfortable, reasonably priced! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Durango Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing