We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Charmista....a nice place to stay!”
Review of Durango Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Durango Lodge
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Charmista....a nice place to stay!”
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Our stay was pleasant..great location..clean rooms..comfortable bed...overall great value!
would definitely stay again!..we had a terrible experience the night before in Flagstaff, so staying here was like Heaven..we would highly recommend The Durango Lodge to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bzbee901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    122
    46
    9
    11
See reviews for
66
125
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My rating is based on whether the property exceeded my expectations, based on the information provided to me at booking and the price quoted. This hotel exceeded expectations - it was reasonably priced and in a great location. We were able to walk to downtown for dinner and shopping. Our room was clean and came with a refrigerator. The wi fi and air conditining worked fine. We had a great little balcony off of our second floor room. The interior hallways were dark and gloomy, but we weren't hanging out there much, so it did not bother us. There is a miniscule pool, which we were not interested in, so can't report on condition. The breakfast was unexceptional, but we were planning to get out early for a day of fishing, so we had packed our own lunch, and were just glad to have a little something on our way out the door. We had a very comfortable stay here and would return. The price was exceptional compared to rooms in the immediate vicinity.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the stairs, ask for a second floor room with a balcony. Great for watching th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richandtrudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, UK
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This hotel is in a fantastic location! We were visiting to go on the Durango & Silverton Narrow Guage Railroad and could not have found a closer hotel, barely a minute walk down the street. It is also extremely close to the main street in Durango, so all of the shops and restaurants were also only a minute away. The off road parking meant that we did not worry about leaving our car parked up for the stay.

We had 2 rooms for 2 nights at this excellent hotel, one of which had a balcony that we enjoyed sitting out on in the evening. The rooms were a good size, and were clean and comfortable.

We also thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast. Located in the reception area (which is separate to the main building), there weren't many seats but we managed to get seats for all 3 of us both mornings. There was a great selection of bagels, English muffins, bread, doughnuts, oatmeal, juice and coffee. Although it was only a small area there was plenty of food to fill us up to start our day, and the doughnuts (both glazed and chocolate!) were absolutely delicious!

Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in a lovely hotel in the heart of Durango.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony! Not amazing views but quite nice to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iciejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We were only here for two nights to ride the Durango Silverton train. It was perfect for that. The a/c was able to keep the room very comfortable even though it was 100+ outside. The bed had to be the most comfortable on our whole trip. You could walk to anywhere downtown. And the price was great. What more can you ask for?

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank wisconsin_bob_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here one night end of April. Web site said they were sold out, called and they had plenty of rooms available. I suggest you call them directly! We were pleased by the downtown location, walking distance to the train station and restaurants. Very nice for walking around the historic area shops. Fort Lewis College is a easy drive up hill for visiting students. Nice decor, quiet, very pleased with the quality for the price and being so close to all the downtown shops.
We did not get to try the pool/hot tub due to the weather and did not try the continental breakfast.
Pleased with the service and friendly staff and really great price for the location would stay again to ride the train!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony, we did not. Free parking, right close to the main street, easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank susane518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coopersburg pa
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The room was OK, kind of odd to have two entrances to the room, one in the front to the outside and one in the back to an interior hallway. Room was clean, updated and comfortable. The location was the best part. We rode the train and didn't have to pay a parking fee, plus we could walk to the great restaurants and stores downtown. The breakfast is not very good. Only a few spots to sit (they do provide trays that you can take the breakfast to your room). Selection of breakfast items is few and not healthy options.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, WA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We wanted a room in the historic downtown location so we could walk to restaurants and bars. This motel was perfect. We enjoyed a couple of beers during happy hour and listened to some live entertainment at an outdoor plaza. For dinner we ordered pizza which we took back to our room to eat on our balcony. We are from the rainy Pacifc Northwest so it was a pleasure to enjoy our dinner outside.

The room was comfortable. Considering the downtown location it was probably a good deal at $108, but chain motels north of downtown were advertising prices of $49 per night (this was in late May). The room had a mini fridge, but no microwave oven.

The woman who checked us in was very friendly and helpful.

As others mentioned, the breakfast wasn't much. They did have a microwave availabe in the lobby so we went to Albertsons grocery and bought a couple of frozen buritos to get some protein to start the day.

We would stay here again if we wanted a downtown location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony if the weather is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JuniperToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.5 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#6 of 33 in Durango
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
0.5 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
2.8 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
222 reviews
0.7 mi away
Durango Downtown Inn
Durango Downtown Inn
#23 of 33 in Durango
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durango Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Lodge

Property: Durango Lodge
Address: 150 E 5th, Durango, CO
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Durango Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small motel in downtown Durango. Clean, comfortable, reasonably priced! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Durango Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing