We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, comfortable”
Review of Durango Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Durango Lodge
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We were only here for two nights to ride the Durango Silverton train. It was perfect for that. The a/c was able to keep the room very comfortable even though it was 100+ outside. The bed had to be the most comfortable on our whole trip. You could walk to anywhere downtown. And the price was great. What more can you ask for?

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank wisconsin_bob_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 264 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here one night end of April. Web site said they were sold out, called and they had plenty of rooms available. I suggest you call them directly! We were pleased by the downtown location, walking distance to the train station and restaurants. Very nice for walking around the historic area shops. Fort Lewis College is a easy drive up hill for visiting students. Nice decor, quiet, very pleased with the quality for the price and being so close to all the downtown shops.
We did not get to try the pool/hot tub due to the weather and did not try the continental breakfast.
Pleased with the service and friendly staff and really great price for the location would stay again to ride the train!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony, we did not. Free parking, right close to the main street, easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank susane518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The room was OK, kind of odd to have two entrances to the room, one in the front to the outside and one in the back to an interior hallway. Room was clean, updated and comfortable. The location was the best part. We rode the train and didn't have to pay a parking fee, plus we could walk to the great restaurants and stores downtown. The breakfast is not very good. Only a few spots to sit (they do provide trays that you can take the breakfast to your room). Selection of breakfast items is few and not healthy options.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We wanted a room in the historic downtown location so we could walk to restaurants and bars. This motel was perfect. We enjoyed a couple of beers during happy hour and listened to some live entertainment at an outdoor plaza. For dinner we ordered pizza which we took back to our room to eat on our balcony. We are from the rainy Pacifc Northwest so it was a pleasure to enjoy our dinner outside.

The room was comfortable. Considering the downtown location it was probably a good deal at $108, but chain motels north of downtown were advertising prices of $49 per night (this was in late May). The room had a mini fridge, but no microwave oven.

The woman who checked us in was very friendly and helpful.

As others mentioned, the breakfast wasn't much. They did have a microwave availabe in the lobby so we went to Albertsons grocery and bought a couple of frozen buritos to get some protein to start the day.

We would stay here again if we wanted a downtown location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony if the weather is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JuniperToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed for one night and were happy with the room for the price. It had obvious new carpet and was clean. It is located right in town so you can walk everywhere.

It had a pool and hot tub. Although we did not use either, they seemed fine.

The biggest negative was the terrible breakfast. Skimpy, poor choices. Might as well not have anything when what is put out os poor quality and has little variety.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nancy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Right in the perfect spot.... walking distance to all attractions in downtown. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank millebf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

This is absolutely the best value in the historic downtown. Friendly check-in with a wonderful dinner suggestion (Tequilla's). Great end to a long day's drive by being able to park, unload, and walk to get dinner. Our room was clean and comfortable with an added bonus of a balcony. Breakfast was oatmeal, which is exactly what we needed to get going. We were able to leave our car in the Lodge's parking lot to take a walk around town before having to get back on the road. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank meyerinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.7 mi away
Durango Downtown Inn
Durango Downtown Inn
#25 of 34 in Durango
359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#7 of 34 in Durango
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Rochester Hotel and Leland House
1 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
2.8 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 34 in Durango
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durango Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Lodge

Address: 150 E 5th, Durango, CO
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Price Range: $70 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Durango Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small motel in downtown Durango. Clean, comfortable, reasonably priced! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Durango Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing