We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the green chili” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gazpacho New Mexican Cooking Y Cantina

Gazpacho New Mexican Cooking Y Cantina
Ranked #21 of 183 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Voted Durango's 2010 & 2011 Best Mexican Restaurant
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love the green chili”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great service and atmosphere. Sean has been a server here for years and is excellent. Food is really spicy (even the salsa) and goes great with their sunrise margaritas.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scimplicity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    137
    56
    33
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Locals recommendation - very tasty.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Wouldn't have found Gazpacho's without a tip from a local. Casual setting - wonderful Southwestern cooking!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank So_Lucky_in_TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Still the Only Authentic New Mexican Food in Durango!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

If you want it authentically hot, this is it. I grew up in New Mexico and go regularly to Gazpacho's for my chili fix. They never let you down! And Sean O'Neil never fails to make your dining experience a pleasant one. Thanks Sean!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank co-bikeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mancos, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent New Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Not many places outside of New Mexico can you find good spicy chile dishes. This is one of them. We eat here every time we are in Durango and ready for chile. I can't comment on everything on the menu because i get the Santa Fe Enchiladas every time. Excellent! Good service, good food, good atmosphere makes good dining. Sean O'Neil was our server last night, great patience and good service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Topduffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glacier, Washington, United States
1 review
“Excellent Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Our server was named Sean O'Neil. He was very quick, had great suggestions, and was overall very nice. My brother has lived in Durango for six years, and told me this server is the most consistent- always dependable to be in a good mood, no madder how busy it is.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gazpacho New Mexican Cooking Y Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Gazpacho New Mexican Cooking Y Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing