We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our expectations were higher than the results.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gazpacho New Mexican Cooking Y Cantina

Gazpacho New Mexican Cooking Y Cantina
Ranked #19 of 184 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Voted Durango's 2010 & 2011 Best Mexican Restaurant
Fort Collins
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Our expectations were higher than the results.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

After several days of average food fit for tourists, we had high hopes from the reviews and the fact that my wife and I grew up on New Mexico "Mexican food". They advertise their chilies as HOT". So I took a chance and ordered it hot. Was a good thing, or there would have been no spicing at all. In spite of seeing lots of local college students there, the food was only tourist level Mexican food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UncleDon41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    141
    58
    33
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best handmade rellenos ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We had the special handmade rellenos. We've been eating Mexican food I've 50 years and never had a more unique and delicious chilli relleno. Everything else was also first rate including margaritas. Hanna wad a fantastic server.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Relaxed, tasty, very spicy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Our group of 10 went to Gazpacho after a long backpacking trip, and found the quantity, taste and value of their menu to be very good, and service was prompt and friendly. Watch out if you are sensitive to spicy food, as everything we sampled was on the fiery end (which, in the name of full disclosure, they do mention in the ads for their restaurant).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ForesterLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMDEN
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“New Mexican in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

If you're a Mexican food fan, then this amazing restaurant in the beautiful southern Colorado location of Durango is a must!

Being a Brit, we have not yet discovered New Mexican cooking, so coming across this little gem of a place was a real treat.
The staff were really helpful and friendly. The other customers were too! It felt like I was a local coming in for a regular meal and drink with friends.

The cooking was first class and I enjoyed experiencing the new style of Mexican cookery.

I would thoroughly recommend Gazpachio, whether you're staying in Durango, or just passing through.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
1 review
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had eaten here on a visit to Durango nearly a decade ago and decided to try again on this visit. We went for lunch. Chris was friendly and courteous. A very good waiter. And the food was excellent, particularly the gazpacho sampler. If we lived here we'd be in all the time, and we'd ask for Chris for our waiter.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gazpacho New Mexican Cooking Y Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Gazpacho New Mexican Cooking Y Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing