We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service”

Gazpacho New Mexican Cooking Y Cantina
Ranked #24 of 192 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Voted Durango's 2010 & 2011 Best Mexican Restaurant
Durango, Colorado
1 review
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had eaten here on a visit to Durango nearly a decade ago and decided to try again on this visit. We went for lunch. Chris was friendly and courteous. A very good waiter. And the food was excellent, particularly the gazpacho sampler. If we lived here we'd be in all the time, and we'd ask for Chris for our waiter.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    148
    66
    36
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
TEXAS
Level Contributor
217 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“GAZPACHO RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had one of the best MEX. dinner at this restaurant. The food was a A+ as well as the service. There was 6 of us, we asked for separate checks, which is a problem in some restaurants but not here. The chips were great. A must stop.
BUD CARTER

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BUDCARTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
137 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“eat with the locals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Many more locals than tourists at this wonderful Mexican place. It is casual and crowded, but never waited more than 20 minutes for a table even at peak time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank trekkerman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
165 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“the real deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great service, excellent new Mexican options, and good prices. Not for the faint of heart as the chef knows his spicing. Try the chile options - red and green are both offered. The tortilla soup was chock full of meat, beans and good stuff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbine, Kansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Interesting meal...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Service was very good and waitress knew the menu. There was nothing wrong with the food, it was just really different from any other Mexican food I've had. My daughter's steak was cooked perfectly and cut easily with a table knife.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GardenDiva84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gazpacho New Mexican Cooking Y Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Gazpacho New Mexican Cooking Y Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing