We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“eat with the locals” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gazpacho New Mexican Cooking Y Cantina

Gazpacho New Mexican Cooking Y Cantina
Ranked #25 of 190 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Voted Durango's 2010 & 2011 Best Mexican Restaurant
United States
Level Contributor
137 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“eat with the locals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Many more locals than tourists at this wonderful Mexican place. It is casual and crowded, but never waited more than 20 minutes for a table even at peak time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank trekkerman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    148
    65
    36
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
165 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“the real deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great service, excellent new Mexican options, and good prices. Not for the faint of heart as the chef knows his spicing. Try the chile options - red and green are both offered. The tortilla soup was chock full of meat, beans and good stuff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbine, Kansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Interesting meal...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Service was very good and waitress knew the menu. There was nothing wrong with the food, it was just really different from any other Mexican food I've had. My daughter's steak was cooked perfectly and cut easily with a table knife.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GardenDiva84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Sean's the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I've said it before and I'll say it again - Sean is the best thing they have other than the food! All the years I've gone there, he always takes the time to say hello and make sure we're taken of right. Even the tourists are thrilled. Customer service is tops on my list when I go out. I've never been disappointed when I sit in his section. The menu is consistent every time, even when they are swamped with hungry customers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Duane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“!Ojala Jalapenos!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Nevermind the delicious offering of entrees. Forget the fantastic flavors of their Margarita menu. Disregard the awesomeness of their annual Chile Relleno extravaganza. And just ignore the crooked cow on the wall.
Take my advice and order the tacos a la carte. Ask your server which one is on special that evening and keep ordering them 'til your belly can take no more. They're the closest thing to street tacos I've had in a proper establishment since Mexico City.
Oh, and don't forget your free sopapilla that comes with... the honey-butter is heavenly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ben s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gazpacho New Mexican Cooking Y Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Gazpacho New Mexican Cooking Y Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing